Sunday, December 29, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, December 29th 2013)

Hard to believe how close we are to 2014. I can taste it. Just a few more days till we complete another trip around the sun. And a new year with hope that things will be different. All and all its been a CRAPPY year for me. Some good lots of bad. I will be doing a year review on my facebook page as of the 31st. I might paste that stuff on here next weekend. Or check it out from my twitter @monkeywriter under #yearinreview I've been doing a daily (or every other day) since the 20th for each month!

1. Saying good bye to 2013 this year. Boy a year its been. Crazy at times. Some fun stuff. I have my up's and down's to this year. Worst being my jobless state and the issues dealt to me with that one. But I wont give up that next year will be different.

2. Had a lovely Christmas. I still will always miss our old Christmas traditions that died when Grandma did in 2006. The going to my aunt and uncles house for dinner and then exchanging gifts. A gift on Christmas Eve. Going and looking at lights and sometimes making the Christmas Eve service at Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa (would have been odd this year anyways with Pastor Chuck gone on). This being my 3rd Christmas in California. I miss our other states. In 2010 we had our parents over in AZ. But 2007-2009 we were alone me and my sister and the pets we had with us. Probably my favorite was 2008 I know Tinkerbell was gone sadly. But we had 4 cats and 1 dog. We both had jobs we loved and money to get by on. Back to this Christmas off subject sorry. My uncle Mike came over later on. In the morning dad made breakfast. We exchanged gifts. Parents gave us each $50 cash (used mine mostly on calendars cause I wanted to!), plus Santa gave us tons of candy and some socks, Misty gave us each a $10 starbucks gift card (just put that to good use today with some to spare for another!), Mel gave me 2 dvd's a shocker "Now You See Me" (more a shocker as I got her the same movie. You can see which movie we LOVED this year Haha!!) and "Despicable Me 2" plus $10 for Claire's (I spent $2 so far thanx). My cousin gave us each a Target gift card (spent all tonight!). Good times. I went back to bed for a few sis worked. Later we ate and had pie. Cousin came over. Bed exhausted, getting older there goes my energy lol.

3.My computer God bless it is being a piece of crap this week. I didn't touch it for a full week from day before my birthday till day after Christmas. I was taking it to Staples they claimed for free they would look at it they said this on the phone. So on Thur dragged it over there only to have the guy tell me that it isn't free to look at it cost $69.99 but if its the wifi card that is thrown in for free. Um no thanks. Although I got pretty close to buying a wifi adapter online. My dad on Saturday took it over to his friends house (he's a computer guy). He removed McAfee and said that was the issue. Yesterday I had a pain in the a** day with it so it wasn't just the virus program. But today *fingers crossed* its okay. I will keep doing this. If it gives me zero problems or not more than once (I can forgive it once but more than) will use last of my $10 on gc on amazon plus $7 of my own money to get a wifi adapter. I am praying for miracles here. I could use the money and not use it on here for real. Please be good computer please pretty please!

4. Saw Catching Fire again this week on Monday. Just as intense second time even though I knew what was coming. Although I did see stuff missed last time. Waiting for my book to come in the mail so I can re-read it. But I have to say first off I love these films. Second they are doing an excellent job as they going through them. I enjoy them all the more because I like Jennifer L. she is one of my top favorite new actresses since she began these (maybe before that even). Also day after Christmas I got me some calendars. I will be forever sad that they changed the page a day I have been using since 2011 (so 3 years worth). I first discovered it for $1 at 99cent store in AZ. I then paid half for it online for 2012 and for this year I got it at B&N half off. But they took away my quotes and got rid of half the side for lists/today. So I got a quote kinda box calendar which is doubling as my room box calendar. I saved $$ this way but will miss my page a day :( Also will miss the wider calendars got in the dollar section at target for 2 years now 2012 & 2013. I saw them at Walmart but no way could I pay $5 for each one. No thanks. So my walls will be more blank unless I leave them up there. I don't have as many calendars I did in 2008-2009 and someway 2010. But not bad. Got my weather one for the dinning room, I got a Twilight Forever instead of Vampire Diaries, Harry Potter (really cool!), City of Bones to replace my Hunger Games, Ballet which I couldn't find last year replaces my Supernatural, Mary E. I always get, maltese puppies. Plus a small one for the bathroom and a planner at B&N. All in all I love what I got very happy and anxious to put them all up and get this over with. Bring on 2014!

5. Hard to believe its been a full year since I got fired from my job at HF DT just 3 weeks early. My last day working was 28th. I was called off on the 29th and lost 3 weeks. But I got unemployment which I am not ungrateful for. I am just so unsure of the future now next year. I know God is in control I just don't get why I haven't been able to find a job. Now I'm in the same boat as all the people in the USA with ue. Yesterday was the last time I was able to certify for it. If I kept my extension even if my claim expires on the 4th of Jan I would get another 1.5 checks. However its possible that they might come back on the 6th and give everyone more time. Like another extension. This is all new to me I have no idea. I btw did not get the medical thing unsure why they said it changes in January because for now of course I didn't get it I didn't qualify. I am unsure about the other medical things. They took 14 days to mail that to me not 10 days. So lets just see. No job news. Tomorrow I call Petsmart back again they've been open 2 weeks. Pray that the manager I spoke with is right and they haven't begun to hire more. He said could be January before they know what they will hire for. But 2 weeks seems enough to just check back not say I was there on the 6th to interview. God willing if I am able to get a job so close to home one I would love I would be so grateful. Or more UE. I will be re-applying on the 6th if they still wont extend depending on ue and if they contact me before hand.

BONUS!!!!!

6. We have had such strange weather this week. It was very hot! On Christmas day and the day before and after 80 degrees no kidding. I miss cold weather and snow and stuff. I promise for the 4 years I out of this state it truly felt more like Christmas weather wise then it will ever feel like in California. I didn't do any workouts but as always its one of my new years resolutions hope get back to it. Havent really done anything of the sort since November before I got sick. Far too long!

Hope all my readers had a blessed Christmas Holiday season and will have a wonderful Happy New Year!! See you all on the other side of 2014 :D

Sunday, December 22, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, December 22nd 2013)

Welcome to the 2nd day of Winter 2013! Feels about the same out here. Sunny, 60's or 70's during day and like 50's at night. I miss snow!

1. Been a trying week for me job wise. I knew I didn't the job at Petsmart I called them on Monday I think I said that last week. So that happened. And it broke my heart. I am having a horrible time trying for a job. Running out of options and time. My UE along with EVERYONE else in ALL the states is set to end on the 28th. While I am grateful I know I am getting one more check its really upsetting. I was stressed out about the Target thing too because I did shop there one time during that time period. I am praying nothing happens with my account I need every cent in there. I check it several times a day to make myself feel better. Sorry for anyone affected I know they are out there. Back to jobs. This week I had an interview with Walmart in Escondido for the new grocery store opening in January. I wish the one opening soon by us would call me too since they are WAY closer. After 2 interviews that took 2 hours plus the horrible drive there and back I decided its better off they didn't offer me a job so far from home. But I had that at least. My second interview this month besides PM.

2. Hard to believe the 19th marked 15 years since my left knee popped out of place causing my injury while I was at work. Which changed my life forever. I was in a brace for 3 weeks, spent nearly all of 1999 in therapy. I had a lawsuit when my job fired me for the knee after not offering me workmen comp. I had an operation the following July. Dropped from school for a year till August 2000. I went to computer school in January-April of 2000. Then when I did get back to my college for another 4 years I changed my major to communications. One little injury the night before my 19th birthday just 1 hour before to be exact changed me forever. An injury that will never be better and with me the rest of my life...

3. Continuing my birthday celebration this week (this was timed like this not a planned celebration) me, my sister and dad saw the second Hobbit film. I really enjoyed it. Sure most of it wasn't in the book (I read the book last year). But I highly was entertained to the point I think I liked this one better than the first movie! Unsure how the last movie will turn out. Hard to believe they are stretching one tiny book into three very long films each one comes in close to 3hours. On Friday I turned 34. I like this for two reasons: even number and next year is an even number. This has been a harsh year or me the worst in a while. I had a fun day. Lots of birthday love from my friends online. I am grateful for that. Went to La Jolla beach for like 20 min and then on to Red Robin was a great experience. Began the day with free breakfast at Denny's. And love their ice coffee. I had 2 there and brought a third home. Red Robin free burger and fries. Love the lemonade. Came home. Than back out got a free birthday coffee at Starbucks broke from my norm for their seasonal "Salted Carmel Mocha" very good actually! And of course cake still working on it. My sister was super sweet. She had already given me a jacket and gloves so I didn't expect anything but (maybe) a card. She gave me a singing card its so adorable cats. 2 movies on my list "Despicable Me" and "The Hunger Games" (love them both!). My parents gave me $50 most on amazon I have spent $35 left $10 unsure what for. So I got 3 books, a dvd and some noise cancelling headphones. Cant wait for my gifts to arrive in the mail! So all in all a good birthday. Just wish it had included a job my secret wish. God is in control. I got a few clouds for my birthday that made me smile thanks God!

4. My computer continues to annoy me. To the point that currently I am on my mothers computer typing this so I don't have to do it on mine. Sure I can type it in a word Doc and put that online BUT there is no promise it will go on. Last week it was being so mean I couldn't do anything. I haven't now as of today been on it since Thur so 3 days. My plan this week is on the 26th dropping it off at Staples. Praying it back before the new year they claim 3 days but this is a bad time of year. Plus unsure if they meant business days. So I hope they get it back before end of year. And its just a wifi card and if it is wont cost more than $10 maybe can get that online? Who knows. Ugh. I just want my computer back again. Its just not cool at all. Plus making it hard to apply for jobs. Nearly impossible do to do anything on it when it disconnects all the time. Last time I on it there was a connection nothing broken few times but still wasn't connected so it was tricking me. Not cool!

5. Hard to believe we are 3 days from Christmas. A piece of me just wants to get all this over with. I have lost my Christmas spirit it has been so hard to do anything even listen to Christmas music. Its the lack of job and my crappy life right now. But I did get my gifts wrapped yesterday and bought my last (online) gift. Also made some Christmas cookies pre-made dough nothing special but taste good. Tree looks nice even if its small. Cats keep trying to bother it they get so hyper! So Merry Christmas to everyone since I wont write here again till after!

Till next Sunday last one in 2013 crazy. Happy Holidays!!

Monday, December 16, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, December 15th 2013)

Half way point through December. Sorry this is one day late I was exhausted from last night! And moving on…

1. Been a trying week for me job wise. Petsmart did not call me at all. I assumed the worse but did call Friday to see if they done with second decisions. The mgr that I had been talking to (but not the one I interviewed with) said he did not know and would tell the one I did talk to on Saturday. Who did not call me back. Since I just called them and got the bad news they did not hire me which I was expecting. However now I will have to wait till the 30th to check if they hiring for it now they open and maybe might not be till January. I am trying to not give up but it is really hard. Also the healthcare place has NOT called me nor my sister. Which means come Thursday if not by then we have to call them back. Not looking forward to this one…

2. I am now writing this from my word document and then I will be putting this on my blogger. My laptop in the last week has developed some odd issue where it will NOT stay connected online for more than a few minutes. It will disconnect. It has done it several times now when I doing something important including applying for jobs, paying our storage unit, etc. However I think it’s a dying wifi card which I have never had to deal with before. This is a pretty new laptop only got it around September last year. I never had this issue with any of my other laptops (this being my 3rd one). Which is odd since most I had for a few years before they just had issues other than that. So I can take it by Staples I will do it after Christmas I guess on the 26th hope to get it back before the New Year. If I have to apply for any jobs in the mean time I am pretty screwed as it disconnects a lot. I am going to pray for a miracle I do not have to worry about it and it maybe is okay before then but if not. I hear wifi cards aren’t expensive. I just have no idea how to deal with this on top of everything else ending this year like this.

3. I went to the DMV last week and got my CA ID. I have not had one in CA since 2007. I have not had one at all since 2009. It has been 4 year since I got mine in TN. I got it just a few weeks before my CA one expired on my 30th birthday in Dec 2009. I thought I got it when we first moved out there. I still have my old one somewhere. I am grateful for my sister loaning me the $$ for this (man is it costly nearly $30 now no kidding!). I will pay her back whenever I get a job at this point its way up in the air. It will be weird using that. Putting me back in CA 2 years ago I don’t still know why God knows I don’t. I am in shock about this. I hope the next time I visit the DMV is for my permit and then for a license. I will get one someday if I ever want to have a car. So there you go. They mail it. We did this now because of the healthcare thing they wanted me to have one. And now ironic they are not contacting me anyways. So there was probably no point if I don’t get this!

4. Last week was a horrible week for sleep. Beginning on the 6th I have not gotten good sleep this entire time (I did today but that does not count for this weekend five haha) Averaging 7hrs or less each day. I am still sick my cough comes up whenever it wants to but I am not sick persay besides that. I am unsure if this is an allergy thing or its because I panic sometimes whatever. Go away. Also my poor hands. We went to Legoland on my sisters birthday and using this gun one of the rides caused my left arm to be in super bad pain from Friday night till at least Monday. I have been wearing handbands on both wrist. I took a break as of yesterday for them. I think it is carpal tunnel I deal with that time to time. I write and use the computer a lot so I guess that. But still I lost sleep on Friday night, Saturday night from that which did not help me at all. They are okay for now.

5. This is my last week of being 33. For fun I have been putting together 33 things that happened to me since I turned 33. I have almost all I want and will post a link through my twitter and perhaps next weekend on this blog. Shall see on that one. My first birthday celebrating was yesterday. Went to The San Diego Zoo with my sister which would have been fun we have passes good till end of next March (unsure if we will be back anymore but this is the last for this year). They doing this Zoo lights thing called “Jungle Lights” and it was way fun seeing lights all over the zoo. We did not see that many animals but we saw some one we missed last month. And my parents and sister joined us. We paid for our parents to come in using our two 50% coupons so they each got in for $23. They let in my youngest sister free which was great. We there with them for like 3.5hrs plus an hour before with just my other sister. Had fun time! The fun continues this week tomorrow and on Friday. So count down to my 34th is now 4 days gulp. I like even numbers and even numbers so I hope 34 and 2014 are way better than this year has been. Plus 13 is kind of a bad luck numbers…

Till next weekend just two more for this year. Count down is on!

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, December 8th 2013)

Last week was long and crazy. I'm still in shock at ALL that happened geewhiz haha

1. As far as jobs go I am one step closer to getting my job at Petsmart I hope. I finally got a hold of the manager at the new store. Who set me up with an interview that took place on Friday. I am unsure how this will turn out or if I will end up applying for a different position when the store opens. And I will trust me. But I am just glad I got an interview its all I wanted since October and I felt like I wouldn't get a chance for even that. Being in that brand new store even if not open really got to me. I didn't know if I wanted this so much because I need a job or because I love that place anyways or what. But it excited me. Shall see. They will call by Wednesday if I get a second one!

2. I am still sick I think I am finally beating this stupid cough. I was really unsure it would ever end. I am unsure but probably no medicine tonight (which is good as I ran out of my good pills few days ago been living off tiny tiny doses of my cheap $1 med to get me by). However my poor left arm continues to hurt me. I don't think I can work out tomorrow cause of it. I hurt it simply by playing a game on a ride at LEGOLAND on Friday. I don't workout much cause been sick and don't do much else. So its been bad. Friday, Saturday and I'm sure tonight. Although getting better Friday night/Saturday morning cost me a few hours of sleep :( Workouts this week don't think so not even a walk! On Wednesday we tried out for some free health care. I am unsure if we will get it. We get 10 business days to hear back and then have to check back (so that would be the 18th). I am trying to be hopeful. I am unsure if I will try for foodstamps but need a CA ID to prove I love here despite the fact I've been on ue for a year almost. So Thur going down for one. But keeping my TN one (sadly doesn't expire till next year oh well I tried to keep going with it till then).

3. Weather this week man has it been unusually cold. Dropping in the 30's at night. All over the country including here. That is cold for our area or any area of California. I wish we got snow for this cold but not really. At night low 60's inside. I stay warm and still prefer cold over heat any day thanks so much.

4. Wednesday we saw Thor The Dark World a second time. Excellent second time as it was the first. I have to say without 3D just as good so you don't need 3D for this movie. Good time! Friday my sister celebrated her continued journey in the 30's (I wont say what age don't ask me ha ha) but she is still 3 years younger then me (although till the 20th its only 2 years). So we spent the first part of the day at LEGOLAND for 3.5 hours. We rode 3 rides, she let me get some stuff for 50% off (not much a plush monkey, a monkey to build, and two keychains). We also did Sealife. Then later we did Mimi's Café with the whole family it was an okay experience food was good server not so much. Onto Balboa Park where we saw some pretty lights and stuff. Special thing going on Fri & Sat. Very crowded but we dodged most of that by going at 10 not earlier when it ended at 11. It was a not bad birthday just very long. Began with my interview at 9am. I got sleep but not much was exhausted and not home till midnight! (that's about 15 hours of fun if you don't count since I got up which was at 7ish))

5. Well today was an adventure in itself. We went to church. Did some shopping. Got a tiny tree its really cute! And got a flat tire before going home. Yeah not in the plan. Glad we got to a spot that was safe (even if it annoyed everyone going around us). They used the spare on the back. My dad came and put air in it he has never used it. And we got home eventually. But it did steal a good hour plus of waiting and stuff. Just glad to be home after that. Even scored a small nap (not as long as wanted but something). I did even get sleep last night too. I fell asleep during tv time about 3hrs, and added nearly 3hrs more last night. And my nap another 2hrs if add that up I got about 8hrs total. Score!

Till next weekend. This week doesn't promise to be AS exciting. Hopeful for a second interview at PM, and getting my CA ID...

Sunday, December 1, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, December 1st 2013)

So we made it to December. This has been SOME year and most of it well unexpected and not fun...

1. I am still sick. It really truly sucks. I thought I would be better by now. But it has been 2 weeks and 2 days since I began to feel icky. I am out of my meds so now starting tomorrow night I will be suffering possibly when I sleep. I am unsure how this will go. I felt my example earlier when I tried to sleep without them. My cold is mostly gone. My cough is the issue it wont go away. I think its fine and then boom I am coughing like crazy again. Praying it goes away soon this is just insanity.

2. Well Thanksgiving was this past week. My uncle came over like he always does. My sister didn't eat with us she had to work. I don't have a job so I didn't work. I didn't work Black Friday either. November was new record for me. I have ALWAYS had a job in November. This was my FIRST time not having one in that month since 1999! Well Thanksgiving was good we are still eating the left overs. Will be done today. 4 days worth we had a big turkey but I don't mind turkey is good :)

3. Its December. I am not too happy. I don't have a job. I have tried and tried. Last month I had NO interviews at all. I am in shock I don't even have a holiday job now. I know its too late for most places. I am still most disappointed I didn't get a shot at Petsmart which opens on the 19th. I will be calling the store tomorrow to talk to the manager. But nothing happened. I tried for other jobs none called me. Even LL isn't really hiring yet. Nothing. I haven't seen a single job they usually post for its like what the heck is going on. So this month is Christmas extra tight for me since I only have my ue to use. My ue ends my last one on the 30th unless the government lets us have more $$. I will re-apply in January but unsure what will happen. And in Feb God help me Feb if I don't have a job and no ue I will be in big big trouble. I cant save anything. I have no idea why God is allowing this. Or how He will work this out. Its a faith thing and I am trying now to just trust and believe. But if you pray and read this please keep me in prayers. I need a job badly please. Plus I don't want to get older again 34 really. Now if I meet a 17 year old who I think is cute I will be DOUBLE their age. I can be glad its an even number. Maybe since 13 is supposed to be unlucky explains why this year has been so crappy? Just guessing here...

4. End of Nov means end of my novel writing. Already I miss writing daily a book. I keep joking every year after Nov I should just do this every month. Its not a joke really I should do that. I also really do NEED to edit my books. But still I can pause and say "I have written 6 books" they might be crap. I think at least one or two would not be a book the idea was good but the writing was bad. So I need to start editing. 96 pages that is how much a 50,000 word novel adds up to if I were to print it out! But yeah nano thanks for the fun see you next year!

5. This week we saw Catching Fire in theater. Let me tell you. EXCELLENT. But very very tense. Tons of action so much it was very much sit on the edge of your seat kind of stuff. I know the book ends abrupt so did the movie but hey that means they did a good job. So yes go see it. I cant wait for Mocking Jay. And I do plan to buy the book and read it asap :)

That's all folks...this week is going to be busy! Not all good busy but busy...