It's been a LONG LONG LONG week...
1. Workouts this week really didn't happen. I was too exhausted from Comic-Con not sleeping much and walking around so much (I haven't had a job in nearly 8 months I am NOT used to standing on my feet half the day or more...) so no workouts. However we did go to a new trail in Fallbrook that was fun. We made it up somewhere steep rocks and higher up. And came back down. Didn't cross the river unsure if I wanted to do it in just my bare feet. We will think about coming back again sometime it was still a lot of fun!
2. I'm still not working of course. ROSS that didn't hire me opened yesterday (July 20th) and of course I didn't work it. B&N that called me for a phone interview last week emailed me this week to tell me I didn't get the job someone with better qualifications got it (which makes no sense since I've worked 7 years in books between B&N and Borders).I think she worried about me living so far away. Lame but glad I didn't go all the way down there and then told I not hired. My UE is over unless they extend. 10 day from tomorrow (Mon) if they don't extend or don't tell me they aren't or will I have to contact them. Ugh not good I thought I had till August :( Also the 17th marked 5 years since I graduated from CSB in Nashville. I was SO hopeful that this school was different and would help me advance my career. Little did I know the following March they would close my location for good and I'd have to lean on the one in Georgia for my internships and still do to this day. I miss all my classmates and since I lost their names I have only contact with a slim few on facebook...
3. We did 1st day of Comic-Con on Thursday, July 18th. We arrived at 11am and found all the assignments were taken. So we free to walk around. I had about 2hrs of sleep that day and my sister not much more. We'd taken the train down from Oceanside it was a fun experience and saved the hectic thing with parking. We couldn't see the "Beauty & the Beast" panel because it full and the line huge so we peeked at it from behind a curtain which wore us out. They did a signing in a secret room so we couldn't see them in that either. Ugh. Walked half the hall. Got tired and left. Not before running into our famous friend from high school whom I have not seen in 15 years. She is all into knowing what is going on with us how thoughtful! Was cool to see her I knew she there and just happened to be passing her by when we about to go. We only stayed till 5pm. Got our free tshirts and left.
4. Didn't do Comic-Con on Friday. But did it on Saturday. We missed our train literally by 1 min as we in front as the doors shut. No refund on the $12 ticket (so $24 total) so we thought the bus would be faster then waiting for the 1:50. We wanted to be down there by 12 for some of the shows we wanted to see. Well we had two different buses that took NO JOKE nearly 3.5hrs to get to downtown. About the same as if we had to ride the 1:50. Buses are horrible uncomfortable and crowded. I hope I never have to ride one again and if so not for THAT LONG!So we didn't get an assignment again (no shock). We there 3:30-6. Saw The Vampire Diaries panel shocking they had seats so that fun. Took some random celeb's photos in the hall. It wasn't a bad day at all actually and I left happy. And happy to ride the train back home!
5. Comic-Con day 3 is today Sunday the 21st. We went down super early. Left the house at 6am and arrived in downtown to the trolley around 7am. We checked in right away and got in line for Hall H. I have never in my life seen such a huge line. But the guys in front of us way back there (we in the harbor it was pretty far away insane) told us last year they way farther and got in. Well the Supernatural Panel began at 10am and around 10:30 we arrived and they didn't move us anymore until they cleared SPN therefore losing the only point of the line. So we wasted 4hrs and had to scoot out of there asap. Our only volunteer shift soon. First we walked across the bridge to the other side and took some pictures of some stuff there. Got some free stuff. Came back. Our volunteer thing lasted 3hrs 12:15-3:15. We didn't get anything to do till 1:15 then we could have left at 2:30 already or 2:15 because there no point us there but the guy who was in charge after the guy who brought us over didn't want us to leave till 3:15. The room was freezing and he was a pain. Only good was I saw and got pictures of some authors of books I have read and loved (Young Adult mostly). So that was fun seeing them. And a few more random celeb's pictures. After we done there we went to the exhibit hall again. Walked the whole thing front to back (or back to front) but didn't see it all we ran out of time. I had brought $40 for things if I wanted to buy. I spent $11. I got two sets of light up rings (4 each pack) for $1.00 w/a free small backpack, a beanie sock monkey hat for $5, and a keychain of a punk rocker monkey for $5 (and came with a free bag!). So in the 3 days we there we bought 1 food item total (a cookie) but ate lots of food we brought so not bad to only spend that. If you don't count train for each of us twice $24 x 2, plus trolley today $5, and gas towards today $20 it wasn't a bad deal at all. :) We left the area at 5:30 right after it closed. Comic Con is a nerd fest I grew to love and actually miss. I will seriously consider doing this again next year and dressing up and doing preview night. Unsure where we will be living but if we are out here I think its well worth a possible 3hr shift to get in free and get free stuff like a bag, tshirt, etc. Too bad Comic-Con leaves San Diego after 2016 but hopeful they will stay. Wouldn't be the same without it here!
Awesome made it to the end of this long week post. Lots happened I guess. This week is less exciting but who knows...
No comments:
Post a Comment