Sunday, February 9, 2014

Weekend 5 (Sunday, February 9th 2014)

Welcome to the 2nd weekend in February. Hope everyone is having a nice month. Me not so much but hey it could still get better right?

1. The Olympics began this week. SO exciting!! I love this time of year. I love both Summer and Winter. I have none I like better. I just learned that up until 1994 just 20 years ago both Summer and Winter were held same year. So that makes sense I kind of recall this. It was like there would be Winter than Summer. I think its funnier I don’t recall the change when it happened. I was old enough (14 at least in age going on 15). Its just weird though looking back on Winter games. 4 years ago the last time they happened it was so different. We lived in TN. It was 2010 the same year my cousin got married and sadly my cat died. When the games happened we were with Borders but not working mostly living off partial unemployment because they had no hours for us. 2010 also had that bad flood that happened shortly before we made our trip to CA in May. So the Winter Olympics happened when my sister picked up this phone book delivery job. The job not worth the $$ paid for us to do it. But it was interesting spending time watching the games while bagging the countless phone books all over the apartment. Good times! We got kind of addicted since we had nothing really else to do so we watched all the time and whenever we up. With no cable like we have now we could only watch what came on the regular channel. But fun. I miss my Grandma a lot during the Olympics Summer and Winter both. For Winter games we used to watch the figure skating together it was like our favorite thing. I have so many good memories of this it makes me sad. I think she saw the one in 2006 since it was before she fell ill than never recovered. So yeah Olympics till the 23rd. The Opening was very interesting. I don’t have that many bad feelings about Russia they are okay. I know in end times they play a role with Israel so when Israel came in the opening they were talking about the “tension” between the countries no kidding. So yeah enjoy the games!

2. I managed 3 workouts this week. I thought I getting sick what my sister has or my parents again but I am okay so far thank God for that. So I worked out three times this week Mon, Wed and Fri. Today I was supposed to begin training for The Hot Chocolate Run which is coming in just 7 weeks from today. But will try on Tuesday instead. Oddly enough I was sick last year this time and trained just fine this late in the game so I hope that’s okay. I will miss doing two races in March but hey its cool. We had some rain this week. SO GLAD. Our drought continues but everything counts. Blessed that there is snow in the mountains and it still is raining and snowing up north for the next few days. Don’t think we will see much action we barely got a days worth but we need it so NO complaints at all.

3. So we skipped 30:40 this past Friday so we could see the opening for Olympics (see #1). But we are going to church today so that is good. Sad we skipped last week. School is going okay. I hope to possibly try an online class next month for office skills. But unsure on that. Guitar is doing alright. Except our teacher is the same old teacher he was 7 years ago. He can be nice sure but he has these moods and just like 7 years back he picks on a few people who aren’t always even doing anything wrong and gets mad at them for “Talking” or whatever. If feel bad for the guys. Plus this guy is scary when he gets this way. It began few weeks ago. The first two weeks we had no issues. But more we get into class and this is different than last time we are actually learning guitar so its just tense. Glad for the 15th to be a holiday so we no class nice break sleep in. But I love playing guitar and I am doing it nearly daily during the week even if just for 20-30 min. My fingers are getting harder. I just wish I could use my strap better my arms get SO tired from sitting there with it. When I go close to an hour I am in pain after. My right arm mostly. But getting used to that too.

4. It continues to look like unemployment will not be extended. It makes me mad. The Republicans are so hot headed they just wont let the Democrats get that bill passed. Thur they missed it by ONE vote. I am unsure if it will happen. Makes me sad. I did my taxes on Monday hope I get paid this week. But I am getting back a lot more than I thought I would. I thought I would have to pay in but they are giving me back what I took out of my ue checks plus a few dollars more. With that $$ I can provide my needs money for 2nd time this month. And all of March I am good. I am sad I cant use this money for fun stuff. I am allowing myself a few small treats including a dvd, a journal and my usual People Yearly I buy every year. But that’s it. No zoo, no races, nothing special. Sad but true. Praying for a job by April before my $$ is once again an issue (unless ue changes than I would be good even longer).

5. So excited to say we are registered again to volunteer for Comic-Con that comes up in July. Last year we missed out on this early registration but because we did one assignment last year we got to register on Tuesday. And we are set. I am unsure how many days we can do. But I hope we get to do a lot. I am excited just thinking about it. And hope I can get a costume together before than.

Well that’s it for this week. This coming will be bit more boring oh hum. But hey there is always the Olympics my new thing till the 23rd. Have a great one everyone!!

No comments:

Post a Comment