Sunday, August 31, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 31st 2014)

The last day of August 2014 is upon us! Hope this day is treating you well. Its been okay for me a bit tired but okay…

1. This week I only worked one day again. They are killing me doing this. Actually last week I had 2 days under my belt this week it was just 1. And I have two more wonderful weeks to look forward to as this curse continues. I pray its fixed soon I am dying from this lack of hours. And they don’t know what to do with me when I come in that early when I normally don’t! Its throwing everyone off balance I have seen it happen!

2. I worked out TWICE last week TWICE no joke. This week I plan to work out TWICE again shall see! I worked out last week on Tuesday & Thursday. Real workouts as in I went out and ran and walked both. I would love to get back into my wii games plus the running I shall try tomorrow or Friday who knows. I did also walk to the Sprinter tech on Saturday (yesterday) from work and I walked around campus and to the Sprinter and such a lot on Wednesday.

3. Speaking of school it is going okay. I am getting more into my classes. This week we learned cameras in tv/radio lab and interviews coming soon. English is a piece of work and takes all my energy because you too would think this from mythology and being stuck in a classroom for nearly 4hrs (with 1 small 25min break). 3 more days till again this class better be worth my sanity going into this! Online classes are fun sometimes and sometimes not. My career and office are ticking by. One will be done in 6 wks and one will be done in 4. I then be beginning October with 1 less class and by mid be 1 more again less. So there is that… Online journalism I have lots of homework to do but its fun so far. And of course tv/radio they are still working on how the homework will go as the book issue still there. But the homework this work was some time consuming but lots of fun! That’s it for the week. I’m busy busy all the time!

4. ALS bucket challenge came upon me. And I took it with stride. I didn’t video it even if that is the rule. I did it to myself. I was tagged by a friend from TN. I haven’t donated yet because frankly I am broke (see #1). Hope to soon as I get hours again (so I am thinking October PLEASE say yes!). ALS is a horrible disease and I hope these millions donated will save lives and find a cure. The water was so cold but I didn’t leave that much time in the water and ice so it could have been colder…

5. I debated on this last one and I came up with 3 for this #5: 1. Michael Jackson’s 56th birthday was on the 29th. I am still sad the king of pop is gone and even more I didn’t play attention as much to him till he was! 5 years later I still think of him and pray for his kids. I did listen to his music, put up some of my favorite songs/videos and recognized another year gone without him. 2. Todays is 3 years since our last normal day in AZ. The 1st (more about that next week I think) changed so much. It was a life changing day and a life changing moment. I am just glad I have August 31st because it was normal compared to what would follow the disaster just 24 hours away. 3. We made church for the 2nd time 2nd weekend in a row hurray! Guest speaker so yeah :/ but good food and stuff. Plus it feels good to come to church no matter what.

Any big plans for the Labor Day weekend? I got none. Dads making BQ chicken tomorrow on the grill should be interesting. I don’t have school anyways but my normal due homework by noon isn’t due till Tue at noon so I get an extra day which is great! I do have lots of homework still to do. 4 online classes always on my tail. English feels about half online even if it is in person because we go online for our homework, readings and turning it in. So there is that… Next weekend is my dads birthday. Unsure if we doing anything yet. Well see you on the other side of September first week have a good one!

Sunday, August 24, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 24th 2014)

As we near the end of August (yeah no kidding!) I ponder at a mixed month I am having. School for real and work with lots of hours then virtually non. That is how I am ending this month in a week! Yikes! Today we did church no kidding after several months of not making it we got ourselves out of bed and made it. I miss Saturday night church it made life so much easier and will forever be sad they got rid of it last year :(

1. Workouts were nothing this week NOTHING! I had 2 chances 2 of them and blew both. On Monday I didn’t have school like my sister. But still recovering from the exhausting 5 days in a row I went on a walk and bike only. On Friday I could have done a real workout but ended up doing a small walk and that was it. In part just to get the dog out. However I did work twice and that meant 2x walking to the sprinter. Bounce round was my trips to 2 colleges Wed & Thur with more walking around them and using public transportation (more below!). So there you go. This week unsure since we began (today) with no workout. I have a chance on Tuesday & Thursday so I will try it and see!

2. Wow baby we had a STORM a REAL STORM on Tuesday night and Wednesday till like noon. Around 2am or so getting ready for bed night before my first day of classes (my sister has them Mon & Tue & Wed too) I thought it was the cannons booming we always hear being so near to the base. Nope. It was too not like that. And then I saw the lightning. The thunder and lightning alone were a show all night long. Thor was hard at work keeping us all awake. I slept fine actually and it did rain too. Next day sometime around noon after one more fast rain storm it went away. I loved it! Every minute! The thunder and lightning while is scary (don’t go outside during those if you can help it!) I knew more then likely nothing would happen. In AZ it could mean a dust storm and in TN a tornado. Here? Nothing usually tornados are kind of rare in California (but not unheard of…).

3. Work this week has been a mess a disaster. They got my new schedule so mixed up. I worked twice each shift only 7am-11am a total of 8hrs in one week. This coming week I work ONE time like this. It’s a killer. I had extra $$ when I just got paid and have to use some if not all of that for my next check which is going to be 12hrs total. They messed up the week after but I hope and pray they fixed it or I will be in bigger trouble. I was working so much and now working so little it’s a bit nutty. Hard to believe we are edging towards my 6th month at the store (September)… wow! What a year!

4. School now in session. Excuse me I keep forgetting I am in school and have homework due this week. I am trying to balance out of my in person classes and my online ones. And its getting crazy! Wednesday my only real day on campus of 2 schools. Went to Palomar for my Tv/Radio Lab sounds like a fun class! I cant wait! Well I can but still. Then I took the Sprinter back to as close as I could to Mira Costa met my sister for guitar. We sadly dropped guitar again different teacher but it crazy in his own way sadly. Which means unless they have a 3rd teacher next semester at MCC we are going to have to try to do it at Palomar. I am glad I didn’t buy the book yet it was only $10 but still glad. The one we had last semester was good. And our teacher was a good teacher till he went nutty on us sadly and it still makes me sad we had a good thing till then! On Thursday I was trying to figure out my online stuff. I went by myself to Palomar for 2 different online class orientations. Then Sprinter all the way to the beach and the station there and took a bus to the Mira Costa Learning Center and did a blackboard class there to figure out BB more. Then I bused to Jack in the Box for coffee. And came home. Was a long two days for sure. This week not as exciting. Minus 1 class but still have 2 on Wednesdays. Oh and we got into English on Wednesday was cutting it close I was on the list at #3 my sister #6 but we both got in and then no one else did. Hurray! Creative Writing next semester cant wait just gotta you know pass this class ha ha. I had issues with my book I rented (it turned out okay) so I can for now keep my class at Palomar online. I am trying out possibly doing a newspaper writing thing for journalism that I don’t have to go to class for. Waiting for the teacher to give me the all clear and have to pay $10 for it unsure when. So yes school is in full swing! 13 units total for me at 2 different schools.

5. This week marks 7 years since our 1st trip to TN. I am trying to not look back but I still cant help remembering that trip because it was the reason we moved. We fell in love in those 3 short days with the people, the state, everything in general. I went there hating country music and left the state in 2010 loving it. I miss it horribly. Everything about it. The people, my friends, my jobs, the weather. I mean I love the ocean but theres the rivers and trees and so green. Its just so different. The way people talk I mean it was just beautiful. I will never forget it. I am a southern girl at heart and country girl forever. All because we decided to step outside our comfort zone and go to a place we never had. It was the only time we ever saw Memphis and Jackson (we drove through Jackson and stayed at a Motel 6 on way through in 2007 for our move but nothing else). Will always be sad we never made it to Knoxville then we went and moved in 2010 and never went back (someday I hope we will!).

It is so hot out I need a nap. I am still trying to recover not very well from this long week. Working so early on top of everything else is really throwing me off. This week will be homework, some work, 1 or 2 movies, and well there you go…and reading of course reading all the more. Hope you all have a great last week in August! See you on the LAST day of the month next Sunday!

Sunday, August 17, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 17, 2014)

Half way point of the month with just 2 more of these to go! Wow August you are flying by…

1. Workouts this week not really. I had one day to do a workout and ended up being so exhausted I did a small walk and a bike and that was it. I however did get to walk to the Sprinter twice this week. So theres that and lots of working so I was on my feet walking around a lot. Work is exercise in the best fashion when you work retail!

2. Speaking of work it has been a long one and I am SUPER glad for 2 days off. I worked five out them FIVE days in a row the most of I have ever worked in a week and the most I have ever worked in a row for this job. Its been an okay week just glad to be done. I worked a mid both Tue & Sat and then Wed-Fri were all closings. This week due to school and them messing up my schedule only scheduled two days at 4hrs each. Next week is worse at 1 day it sucks. I talked to my mgr he fixed it so hopefully this will be it but could have one more week like this shall see. Sigh. Work is work.

3. We are back in our heat spells. Lucky me I got to work so much I hardly had a chance to (not) enjoy trying to sleeping in when it this hot out. Sadly the days I did try were failed attempts. Today after all that work and sleeping less and not enough I only enjoyed 8hrs and I am still so tired I can hardly see straight. We sadly skipped church when we could have. Hope to get back in next Sunday. I honestly wish sometimes I could just tell them when I change my schedule next year I guess I can that I cant work on Sunday mornings so we can sometimes do church! Well Summer only has another month to go. I managed no beach time and no water parks so far. Unsure at this point if either will happen before Summer is over…

4. School starts this week. I got 2 of my 3 ordered text books. I am still waiting for one. Renting them online is something new will be interesting to see how it works to return these in December. I bought one of them because it was just a bit more to buy it and I figured I could use it. I have already been trying to do some of my work for my only classes but some don’t have much posted. This week on Wednesday is classes I have 1 in person at Palomar and then Sprinter back to my sister for guitar. We are going to the closed English class as we were told to hopefully get in. I think they want to see who will show up and if they don’t they might get dropped for those on the waiting list. I am glad the teacher doesn’t require books unsure if that will change or if we will get in. Either way Wednesday is all about school. Thursday I have some school stuff to do too so I will be gone most of the day. Shall see how this goes exciting crazy week ahead of me being a student again! And at a new college too so there is that…

5. I’m ending this on a sad note its about Robin Williams sudden death. I don’t like all actors and actresses equally and him dying has really impacted me deeply. I struggle with minor depression at times not enough for meds or therapy (but who knows maybe they would help!). But he was like in all these great movies I loved. He was able to be funny but not funny too. He was both. I loved him in all I watched with a few exceptions plus I haven’t seen ALL his works. But to me he will always be Peter Pan or Mrs Doubtfire those are my favorites. However Good Will Hunting & Dead Poets Society were very good serious films. I loved him in Jumanji too and many others. I am unsure the age I knew who he was. I was into Aladdin as a kid and I loved that. But I am unsure if I knew who he was. I saw Hook when I was 13 (or was it 12?) in Jr High 7th grade. I didn’t know who the heck Dustin Hoffman was so that was funny but I knew Robin by then so I am unsure on the age range. Either way he was younger then my parents and had a wife and 3 kids who miss him. I will keep praying for his family. I am unsure when I can watch his films again he was in so much. I hope by at least December I am okay I saw a preview for Night at the Museum 3 on the 5th and was so excited about that so that might be when I see him again if not before… Miss you Robin Williams always one of my favorite actors!!!!

I am glad to be at this end of my busy week. This week is less work but more stuff so it wont be dull no sir. Hope you all have a great week. See you on the other side!

Sunday, August 10, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 10th 2014)

Welcome to the 2nd one of these for the month of August. Hard to believe my friend is celebrating her 11th wedding anniversary today and oddly enough in 2003 it was also on a Sunday I am pretty sure…

1. Workouts this week were so little why did I put this in here. I have been working a lot and most times it was on days I would have normally have worked out. Now I know I am being lazy and I need to find time to workout each day if possible so I am working on this. However that is all I did last week was one day a walk and a bike kept it simple. This week sadly looks the same and then next week who knows. But that is all. And I walked to the sprinter yesterday so there was that…

2. Worked a lot this past week. 4 days at about 25hrs. That included my very first all store meeting. Which was like most jobs a meeting but still it was interesting. I have been working there for 4 months now. Its an okay job but not something I plan to keep doing forever. I hope I wont be there more then a year or less. I want a real job and retail is truly tiring me out and making me want to scream. I am not complaining last year at this time I had no job to complain about. Its these little things I don’t want to mention now till I am not there anymore. Whatever. This week I work 22.5 hours and that is 5 days in a row. I will be very tired next weekend. But next week only twice and I do not know why. I was so happy for the extra hours and was hoping they would continue somewhat so I could save and stuff and do things I need to. Now I am unsure. Work is work.

3. Saw the movie “Guardians of the Galaxy” on Tuesday. It was a good time. Want to see it again this week I hope! I am such a comic book movie nerd its not even funny. Who knew since I didn’t read comics growing up I would become such a nerd but I see most movies based on comic books and they are usually awesome. I mean this wasn’t like my favorite I loved Avengers nothing can beat that movie (just watched again last night) But it’s a new kind of good. Next one wont be out till 2017…

4. The weather has been on a whirlwind of crazy. Last weekend we had rain and stuff. This week heat is back but sometimes not as bad. Past few nights gone to bed and its been under 80. But then the heat picks up and by like noon it is back to mid 80’s. Anything above 80 and I am dying and its hard to sleep in on days when I am home so that is annoying. But I do my best and try to not complain Summer is almost gone. Havent been to the beach really even once and not even a water park. Kind of sad if you think about it…

5. School is NEXT WEEK! I got an email from one of my online classes that stuff will be online tomorrow. This is my office class. I am taking a total of 4 online classes, 2 in person and hoping for a 3rd. My classes are online or on Wednesdays only. Originally was going to take them on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays but stuff got screwed up. So now this is what it is. Next semester I hope for more classes shall see. I need to save way in advance for books those are a killer and still haven’t bought or rented any. Not cool! But excited about next week!

Well that’s all for now. Was a slow boring week. This week is lots of working and not much else except maybe another movie. Have a good one everyone see you next weekend!

Sunday, August 3, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 3rd 2014)

Welcome to August! July flew by and we are now in the 8th month of the year. Look how close to end of Summer we are. 2014 has sure been a strange year so far…

1. Workouts this week were so low I am unsure why I put them on here but I did. On Tuesday after going to Comic-Con for 3 days in a row then working an 8hr shift at work I was lucky to do anything at all. I just did a small walk with my dog to get her out mostly but me too of course. Too tired! I know that should not be my excuse and it will not be in the future just was then. On Thursday I did a real workout jogging and walking and biking so that was good. Got me tired but I needed it. Havent been doing enough of those lately even when I can.

2. Work is going alright. As of the 1st and now the 3rd today I am officially into my 4th month with the company. I am unsure how long I will be in retail little alone this job (I cant wait to start working again on my memoir it even has a title!). Last week I worked 2 days but got 14 hours not bad. This week I am working a lot 25.5 hours that’s 4 days all closings. Next week only 22.5 but why do I say only as I am still getting more these past 3 weeks then I have in ages. I will take that amount! After that is school so I wont be able to work twice a week see how the hours do then.

3. School is coming up fast! We begin classes on the 18th for me it’s the 20th as I am doing more online then in person. After we both took the English Placement we found all the classes we could for ENG 100 were booked solid so we are waiting on the wait list. Hoping to get into a Wed night class. It still works better then mornings Monday & Wednesday which would have been a bit hard to do because of both of us and other classes. For me Wed I have to be at Palomar at 11 and class out at like 9:20 I would have been pushing it to get there on the Sprinter on time. Shall see if we get in hope the odds are in our favor.

4. The heat has kicked into full swing for the Summer. But seeing as we are half way through it I think we wont be getting too much hotter. 80’s this week but yeah that’s Summer for us in California our area. I miss AZ crazy heat and storms and TN crazy storms…

5. Speaking of storms we had some rain last night and yesterday. Off and on it rained. More rain for us then last weekend. I was at work watching it come down. Oddly enough its so humid that it was hot as nothing inside the store. So it was not a fun day all together. I worked a long shift watching rain come down. And hot inside. Today is a chance but unsure if anything will happen its sunny but sort of cloudy. Rest of the week no rain chances but they could pop up. And we NEED the rain so trying to not complain!

That’s all for now. Slow week it has been. Unsure what we are doing. I am working a lot (odd ball is Saturday more about that next weekend!) we might do the legoland water park, we are seeing a movie and my parents have their anniversary. Well have a good week everyone see you next one!