Monday, February 6, 2012

Weekend 5 (Sunday, February 5th 2012)

1. Hard to believe today marks 4yrs since our "real" first Tornado Scare in TN. I wont forget that day. It began with bad news the night before saying it might happen. We had gone to our Borders to get $1 calendars and then to the one in Brentwood too. Then we went to our Walmart and my mom was telling us they said there was a tornado in Nashville. We didnt have a weather radio or tv. So it was mom or regular radio only for the news (stupid stupid). I believe we got our weather radio shortly after this cause they only cost $15! Anyways. We gathered all we loved and owned in the bathroom including my hamster Tinkerbell. The cats werent there just our stuff computers, etc. I didnt have my wii back then so it was like computers, cameras what not. (Later on I had to put in there my flipcamera, dvds in the 2 cases and even my wii when I could!). We slept downstairs with all the windows open in the house as we heard that is "what you do" (later learned it doesnt matter if you do this and we never did it since!). We only had 2 cats, a hamster and a dog (it was harder when we got the other 2 cats). At around 2am we had fallen asleep and the sirens blared outside. It came from MTSU which was near us the siren which we had NEVER heard before one of them like was very creepy. I said to Mel still asleep "is that a torando siren?" which she freaked out jumped up and ran to get the cats. Then we opened up the back door our last thing to open and gathered all of us in the bathroom listening on the radio. The siren only went on for a few minutes but we heard them say on the radio that "the storms had stopped before hitting Murfreesboro area" thank God! Still for 2hrs we had thunder & lightning and wind it was very freaky storm even without the tornado. The next day I had to work and I had barely slept and so had everyone else. No one had lost their houses but someone had their roof torren up a bit, trees down, etc. Everyone looked as tired as me what a night for tornados and us for our first real scare.

2. This week my 2 bike rides were small. I did one by myself on Tuesday cause I wanted a ride but my sister didnt. I rode around the neighborhood doing a little exploring. On Thur short on time we did a simliar one together for a bit longer got a bit farther. It was still fun I love bike riding its like flying! Also did some wiifit and twice now done some yoga (and once strength training) I was doing pretty good every day till Fri when I couldnt sleep and havent done it since (back at it again Tue this week). I love working out and though the wiifit doesnt notice any weight loss my pants are getting more loose so I know its working :)

3. Well we found out this week that we are NOT going to be working at LL till the 9th. On the 30th we both applied for jobs posted that day got all excited thought we would be back at it this week already. After all I was told end of January or mid Feb and yet...nothing. So we contacted them next day to find out that March 9th they bring people on but was told that was for new people rehires should be back sooner? And yet I got an email telling me to contact my supervisor who told me March 9th as well? I am still confused. Next few days I am going to contact them for more info. I did my taxes this week as well ($66 back what the heck I got $209 last year and made LESS hours hate CA taxes!!) and will have to live off that till March 23rd my first check. SIGH. Praying they still bring us back sooner going bananas here but will make some good use of my time till then I HOPE.

4. Been a crazy busy weekend. On Saturday me and sister went down to the Carlsbad Flower Feild. volunteer orientation. We will begin doing this March 3rd till May 13th so its not very long but still will be working it around our jobs at LL. So that should be fun. It sounds like a wonderful thing to do. We have our tshirts and name tags. I am glad they are waiting till March as we dont have enough $$ for gas till then!

5. Saturday our cousin Amy and her husband Andrew came and hung out. It was a lot of fun seeing them as we havent since last June. Our first time since they moved out here. We've seen our cousin (her sister) Jenny twice since moving out here. So we hit the beach for a little bit. Then home for my moms fried chicken, and dads biscuits. Watched Rat Race. Was a blast. But so tiring. Then today my good friend Nikki came over. I havent seen her as well since June. We went to Sammy's Woodfired Pizza and it was yummy especially dessert. Then went to a beach near by and was there a bit walking around collecting shells and just relaxing. Beautiful day today it was like 73* love it!! Came home then she left.

Till next week...

No comments:

Post a Comment