Sunday, January 5, 2014

Weekend 5 Sunday, January 5th 2014

Welcome to 2014! Hope all my readers had a nice holiday and are having a good new year. I am doing okay…but I could be better…

1. Had a rough start to the New Year. I am getting sick possibly again. Woke today with a sore throat which I hate more than I hate what follows. Ick. My sister has been sick for the past few days so I am not shocked as I haven’t gone out before today in like 5 days where I got it from. But what can I do we share a room. It was bound to happen. Hoping this doesn’t get worse just better shall see. Ew.

2. One of my New Years Resolutions working out more is not happening yet. I will NOT let this get me down tomorrow I plan to really work out. Our weather has been behaving. Zero rain, not bad during day and cold at night. Shall see. I am glad to say as we speed towards Spring that its not getting dark AS late. It actually is now light till closer till 5:30 while few weeks ago it was getting dark before 5. Yeah for more day light!!

3. Well couple of things went down in the past week. Unemployment said good bye to me claiming because I didn’t work all of last year I cant get UE. And then yesterday they said I can get it again but its way smaller. Down to $65 per week (my lowest yet). Plus its only for 7 weeks total I figure after taxes will round out to $117. Am I getting this? I pray so. Tomorrow the government people come back in office and we are hoping I will get my extension back that was cancelled on the 28th. While I would take both of these I would take the new UE in the end over the extension if I had to choose. I pray I am getting something or its going to be a long cold winter till I get a job. That includes future movies (and there are some good ones coming out!). Going to the Safari Park or ZOO before our passes expire. My moms birthday next month, etc. You get the point. In the mean time my computer the poop is being just poopy. I use firefox now sometimes but sometimes I don’t. On firefox I cant use blogger it claims my “cookies aren’t turned on” when they are. When I turn them off I can get to the sign in page but once I sign in it says I need cookies. And when I put them back on it claims they are off again. Sigh. So back to internet explorer which I prefer for some things. Also Pandora lovely wont come on firefox it claims I need a flash player. I have NEVER seen that for firefox. Plus my laptop doesn’t have the latest so this being an issue is totally new. And I’ve been using that free radio for years. I don’t have a job lined up. I am applying like crazy every chance I get. Tomorrow I get to call back some places I applied with, call Petsmart again hoping they give me the call clear to apply again. Pray UE gets fixed. My laptop will be nice so I can keep my $$. I would prefer it this way. I could keep my $7 and use rest of my gift card on amazon for something I want not a wifi adapter. But I will do what I have to get this fixed. Dumb computers sometimes technology sucks. Hope for better things before next weekend!

4. New Years Eve was a big deal. Last year my sister wasn’t working so we spent half the night watching all the stuff on tv and going on our laptops. What a difference a year makes. The laptop she used is now in the garage, still messed up. She has a used one. I am on mine still (with issues). So I followed her to Legoland had some fun by myself. I didn’t spend too much money on food. I brought my own food bought some desserts and a coffee refill at the end there. I went on one ride and watched the brick drop. I found all the santas in Mini land and took pictures of them and the tree and lights. When they closed I hung out in the lobby of the new hotel my first time “inside” what a treat. Wish I could have seen more. But saw lots still more pictures. Than Carl’s Jr for dinner. Toasted in midnight then everyone but went to bed (was kind of sad) and I went last. Like most of the major holidays last year it didn’t feel like it was New Years Eve. New Years Day nothing special. Sister worked. Had ham which lasted 3 nights total. I overslept missed the rose parade sad they didn’t put it on the app for my ipod.

5. As promised here is the year in review I wrote up. I originally meant this for facebook and livejournal. But then I couldn’t do a note on facebook for it. So here it is in its full glory and its long. Sorry!

January 2013—saw 2 movies thanks to movie tickets for Christmas. Les Miserables on the 1st which was excellent so sad I was crying a lot but so good too. Later on we saw “The Hobbit” again but in 3D which wasn’t worth the 3D but we tried it! I got approved for unemployment at the end of the month one of the biggest highlights of that month was knowing I would be okay for the year till I got a job. Built some of our lego sets but didn’t finish them all sadly. I didn’t have a job yet month one.

February 2013—Beginning of the month we ran/walked “The Electric Run” that took place at the Del Mar race track. First of all doing anything on the track was something else. Havent been there since we volunteered for The Mud Run in October 2011. Was told later on that it was more than 3 miles probably close to 4 miles around crazy not a 5K. It was fun with the glowing stuff but decided not to do it again. Exhausting and more than once in dark spots I almost tripped. Plus it was longer than expected. It was free pancake day at IHOPE got to do that again always a fun time! Managed two movies both sort of romantic. The ever loved “Warm Bodies” (I since read the book and they did a not bad job!). And later on Beautiful Creatures which I didn’t like at first but since then love it enough to own the movie (plus it was $2 why not!). Parents traded in their van for a new used one which we all got to used to eventually but still miss the old one sometimes. Went to La Jolla for my mom’s birthday including The Birch Aquarium which we had been to before but my parents had not! I didn’t have a date/love for Valentine’s Day again my 33rd year of this…and no jobs 2nd month.

March 2013—My favorite month by far. We both got NICE tax returns (this might have been in Feb.) I got my new ipod touch which I love and I guard with my life whenever I take out in public. Ran/Walked The Saint Patrick’s Day Run on the 17th. It was so much fun! Even tried beer (its gross btw unsure if ever will again ha ha). The following Sunday was The Hot Chocolate Run also so much fun. And lots of chocolate it was yummy time!! After we tried out our Zoo passes for the first time we were exhausted from the race so we only was there a few hours but we still had some fun. Tired but fun. Easter was in March which was rare. We saw “Wizard of OZ” in 3D at 9pm night before it out. That was memorable because the power went out in the theater before our movie and eventually we all had to move to a larger theater as ours didn’t work right. Fun times great film loved it! 3rd month no job.

April 2013—We did the Safari Park with our passes first time back in near two years. Took our cousin and she did some stuff we could never including riding the zip line like ride. But was fun watching her on it! Went to the beach walked on it and my sister almost lost her flip flop. She dropped it and the ocean got it but was back on the rocks dirty and wet but okay. Funny but not so funny had she lost it. I did some job applications at the Outlet mall in Carlsbad while my sister worked. We saw The Host another favorite movie love. There was The Boston Marathon bombing which was sad and scary. Same day as that my sister had a car accident which wasn’t cool. She okay but still. 4th month no job.

May 2013—Our favorite film of the year so far “Iron Man 3” we saw it THREE times in one month. My sister saw it a 4th time inbetween us seeing it again and again. Best film ever possibly so far. Also saw “Star Trek Into Darkness” not a bad film either. My sister used a rental car while the jeep being fixed. We remembered losing grandma 7 years ago on the 10th. I began to find out I wouldn’t be able to work at Legoland for a while. Which I thought I would be back at as of May as I was told this in February. 5th month no job.

June 2013—Saw “Now You See Me” once and a second time unsure when but it wasn’t too far after this maybe in July? It was our favorite movie of the year as me and my sister gave it to each other at Christmas too funny! Its awesome. Also saw “Man of Steel” and “Monster University”. Remembered my dog Cocoa’s birthday on the 8th she’d have been 24 if alive. Rainbow turned 11 years old. Rocky & Jacky turned 5 years old. Its been 15 years since I graduated from high school. 6th month no job.

July 2013—Biggest month of the year when we got to volunteer 3 out of the 4 days for Comic Con. It was an experience not to be missed. And totally free. Except for the cost to get down there we rode the train both ways once, one time we rode the bus then train later on, last time we parked so we rode only the red trolley in down tow to and from our car. We only did get a shift on Sunday other two days we came for a few hours just saw and left again. But fun all around cant wait to do this again in 2014! Saw movies “The Long Ranger” sad how bad it did at box office it was a good film loved it. Also saw “Despicable Me 2” twice we loved it that much. Saw fireworks sort of on the 4th from far away. We also hiked on The Elifin Trail and I dipped my foot in the water it wasn’t fun lol. 7th month no job.

August 2013—went to Safari Park for the Ring Tailed Lemur exhibit that was going away later that month. It was fun getting so close to them love those my favorite! Went to Legoland first time since thought I would be working there. My unemployment got its first extension. Saw “City of Bones” which was good! Best of the month was going to Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific with my cousin. Its huge was fun and even rode the boat after so that was cool too! 8th month no job.

September 2013—a lot of happened! We tried to volunteer for Dana Point but scared away by how much commitment they wanted from us. We celebrated double on my dads birthday weekend also for Mistys birthday she turned 27 on the 17th. We went to Point Loma Lighthouse, played in the tide pools/beach a little. Then ended up in Little Italy for pizza dinner was a fun long day. Remembered 9/11 12 years later. And grandma’s birthday on the 29th sad still we couldn’t do a balloon due to a helium shortage most places didn’t sell the cheap balloons we wanted. Went to Redlands for their art show. I had a small health scare that ended okay but wasn’t fun. 9th month no job.

October 2013—Pastor Chuck died on the 3rd at age 86 years old which began a bumpy month. I had a call from LL a guy who was in HR who thought he should call me and explain but not really make sense about why I wasn’t getting called to work there. NO thank you! We began to go to a new group called 30:40 for people in their 30’s and 40’s at North Coast Calvary Chapel in Carlsbad. Not a bad group love the free food and coffee. Misty’s social worker came over on a rainy day that also I went to our mall to apply for jobs. We did not do a lot for Halloween. Candy was not a lot, couldn’t find much half off at midnight. We did a pumpkin but waited till almost end of month. I missed working a lot. 10th month no job.

November 2013—Saw two movies “Enders Game” which was a good movie not bad for compared to book. Then “Catching Fire” it was very good just very intense but loved it. Went to “The San Diego Zoo” first time since March spent more time there but still didn’t see it all. We both got really sick enough to be for me a month till I stopped coughing. Blame the zoo or CiCi’s after someone got us both sick same day. I wrote and finished my 6th NaNo book and tried to do the PAD (poem a day) I still need to work on those. Thanksgiving was nearly end of month. And sadly on the 30th Paul Walker died. I didn’t work my first black Friday since 1999 that alone was insane for me thought I’d have a job by then. 11th month no job.

December 2013—Rounding out the year. I turned 34 and my sister turned 31. For her birthday we didn’t do as much as thought ended up going to Legoland. Then later on we went to Mimi’s Café and downtown San Diego for this light thing. We saw “The Hobbit 2” (it has a name I know don’t feel like putting down) with my dad. Went to San Diego Zoo again with our parents early celebration for my birthday. On my actual day we just went to La Jolla for a few then Red Robbin. In the morning my sister and me went to Denny’s. Had a nice Christmas uncle and cousin came over. Got all the calendars I wanted. New Years Eve spent at Legoland. I lost my ue along with millions in USA. And found out that I wont be getting UE at all unless government extends what we all lost. I cant re-apply as I haven’t worked. I ended 2013 wondering what will happen as my $$ will be gone end of Jan if something doesn’t changed. Lost my chance for job at Petsmart and trying to be hopeful when they hire again soon this month I can get another shot God willing. I need a job. 12th month no job.

Till next weekend have a good one!

No comments:

Post a Comment