Sunday, August 24, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 24th 2014)

As we near the end of August (yeah no kidding!) I ponder at a mixed month I am having. School for real and work with lots of hours then virtually non. That is how I am ending this month in a week! Yikes! Today we did church no kidding after several months of not making it we got ourselves out of bed and made it. I miss Saturday night church it made life so much easier and will forever be sad they got rid of it last year :(

1. Workouts were nothing this week NOTHING! I had 2 chances 2 of them and blew both. On Monday I didn’t have school like my sister. But still recovering from the exhausting 5 days in a row I went on a walk and bike only. On Friday I could have done a real workout but ended up doing a small walk and that was it. In part just to get the dog out. However I did work twice and that meant 2x walking to the sprinter. Bounce round was my trips to 2 colleges Wed & Thur with more walking around them and using public transportation (more below!). So there you go. This week unsure since we began (today) with no workout. I have a chance on Tuesday & Thursday so I will try it and see!

2. Wow baby we had a STORM a REAL STORM on Tuesday night and Wednesday till like noon. Around 2am or so getting ready for bed night before my first day of classes (my sister has them Mon & Tue & Wed too) I thought it was the cannons booming we always hear being so near to the base. Nope. It was too not like that. And then I saw the lightning. The thunder and lightning alone were a show all night long. Thor was hard at work keeping us all awake. I slept fine actually and it did rain too. Next day sometime around noon after one more fast rain storm it went away. I loved it! Every minute! The thunder and lightning while is scary (don’t go outside during those if you can help it!) I knew more then likely nothing would happen. In AZ it could mean a dust storm and in TN a tornado. Here? Nothing usually tornados are kind of rare in California (but not unheard of…).

3. Work this week has been a mess a disaster. They got my new schedule so mixed up. I worked twice each shift only 7am-11am a total of 8hrs in one week. This coming week I work ONE time like this. It’s a killer. I had extra $$ when I just got paid and have to use some if not all of that for my next check which is going to be 12hrs total. They messed up the week after but I hope and pray they fixed it or I will be in bigger trouble. I was working so much and now working so little it’s a bit nutty. Hard to believe we are edging towards my 6th month at the store (September)… wow! What a year!

4. School now in session. Excuse me I keep forgetting I am in school and have homework due this week. I am trying to balance out of my in person classes and my online ones. And its getting crazy! Wednesday my only real day on campus of 2 schools. Went to Palomar for my Tv/Radio Lab sounds like a fun class! I cant wait! Well I can but still. Then I took the Sprinter back to as close as I could to Mira Costa met my sister for guitar. We sadly dropped guitar again different teacher but it crazy in his own way sadly. Which means unless they have a 3rd teacher next semester at MCC we are going to have to try to do it at Palomar. I am glad I didn’t buy the book yet it was only $10 but still glad. The one we had last semester was good. And our teacher was a good teacher till he went nutty on us sadly and it still makes me sad we had a good thing till then! On Thursday I was trying to figure out my online stuff. I went by myself to Palomar for 2 different online class orientations. Then Sprinter all the way to the beach and the station there and took a bus to the Mira Costa Learning Center and did a blackboard class there to figure out BB more. Then I bused to Jack in the Box for coffee. And came home. Was a long two days for sure. This week not as exciting. Minus 1 class but still have 2 on Wednesdays. Oh and we got into English on Wednesday was cutting it close I was on the list at #3 my sister #6 but we both got in and then no one else did. Hurray! Creative Writing next semester cant wait just gotta you know pass this class ha ha. I had issues with my book I rented (it turned out okay) so I can for now keep my class at Palomar online. I am trying out possibly doing a newspaper writing thing for journalism that I don’t have to go to class for. Waiting for the teacher to give me the all clear and have to pay $10 for it unsure when. So yes school is in full swing! 13 units total for me at 2 different schools.

5. This week marks 7 years since our 1st trip to TN. I am trying to not look back but I still cant help remembering that trip because it was the reason we moved. We fell in love in those 3 short days with the people, the state, everything in general. I went there hating country music and left the state in 2010 loving it. I miss it horribly. Everything about it. The people, my friends, my jobs, the weather. I mean I love the ocean but theres the rivers and trees and so green. Its just so different. The way people talk I mean it was just beautiful. I will never forget it. I am a southern girl at heart and country girl forever. All because we decided to step outside our comfort zone and go to a place we never had. It was the only time we ever saw Memphis and Jackson (we drove through Jackson and stayed at a Motel 6 on way through in 2007 for our move but nothing else). Will always be sad we never made it to Knoxville then we went and moved in 2010 and never went back (someday I hope we will!).

It is so hot out I need a nap. I am still trying to recover not very well from this long week. Working so early on top of everything else is really throwing me off. This week will be homework, some work, 1 or 2 movies, and well there you go…and reading of course reading all the more. Hope you all have a great last week in August! See you on the LAST day of the month next Sunday!

No comments:

Post a Comment