Sunday, February 27, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, Feb. 27th 2011)

Yeah...

1. So today its nice and sunny but cold only around 55. Last night we had our little rain storm. I'm never gonna get used to this. We've been out here 7 months now going on 8 next month and still not used to up and down weather. I know maybe in July it will stick we live out here and its how it is. But for now its just crazy and its taking time...

2. So our friends in TN got their first almost tornado last Thur with chance #2 tonight. I dont miss all that crazy but I'm glad they are okay. I might on occasion miss crazy thunderstorms and snow but I never upon NEVER will miss tornados. Its just not possible to miss something that horrible! Cramming in our tiny bathroom with all the pets and not being able to breath it so hot.

3. So I spent half this week home and half not. Monday was a holiday so we did only at B&N then sis worked on Tue, Thur & Fri. But Fri we got a little online at B&N. So its been a crazy week. This coming one I will be actually online maybe every day possibly which is cool! I miss going online its never fun. One day wifi at home will be nice!!

4. I'm really excited they finally posted the job fair that I've been waiting for, for months! Its for the broadcasting thing for tv stations and radio. I am so hopeful this will lead me to a job I can hardly stand the wait. So much so I didnt see on their site so I emailed them they got back to me to tell me that its on April 7th. :))

5. Finally got to church today. We only went once last month and hadnt been really much since. Between them changing times on us and we doing races sometimes on Sundays we keep missing. Nice to be back. Only to see they dont do our month mag anymore and now have gone like everyone else to a bulletin. Like the church and annoucements on a big screen its a colorful little shiny two sided sheet of paper. Its better actually but I will miss the mags and glad we at least got to see a few before they stopped them. They havent had a new one since I think Nov of last year!

thats all for now...see you in march!

Monday, February 21, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, Feb. 20th 2011)

1. I got my tax money this week and I am happy. It came in on Friday but I was not online all week. Then I see the date reads the 22nd so I was not able to still use the money. Its not a lot of money and most of it is already spent before I got it. But its important stuff the most important. I would have gotten more stuff but did not make that much. I still have to file my state tax one. I have been waiting for my sister to get her taxes done then we can file our state taxes together. You learn every day and we will learn from this too sadly.

2. Our second walk/race of this month was today (Sunday 20th). Sadly it was raining even though it wasnt a huge chance of rain. It was only a 30 to 60% chance and usually in AZ that doesnt mean rain. But of course it does mean rain when it shouldnt and was a bad time to do so. It rained a lot on Saturday and we thought Sunday we would have a break so we left early to see the walk and then had to park so far away a good 20 to 30 minute walk so we missed them starting. This walk was simliar to the walk in October for Autism we did last year. So we walked around instead got free dog stuff for Rainbow like treats and toys. We signed in early at 11am because it was pouring rain and we got soaked coming there to do it thinking we wouldnt be needed or get our early. We then left at 12 when we were supposed to start mostly because we were so cold and wet still and worried we would get sick. It took forever to
get warm in the car but we got warm and did a little shopping. That was not a fun race/walk. But we got two free shirts each out of it. I am going to need to start hanging these shirts there are SO many since we began this in 2009 :)

3. Wednesday two things happened. But the first was I found out Borders Books is now bankrupt. They are closing 200 of their 665 stores. And of all stores to close includes all in our AZ area which means I am glad I didnt get a job at one. And the other is our former store in TN. The one I worked for nearly 3 yrs. I cant believe it. Not one store but theirs in TN is closing. Sure they could get jobs at other stores if they wanted and they would take them on. Worse yet is that if the company does not get it together ALL the stores could close. I loved shopping there even if I was not working there. The thought the store we worked for will be gone deeply saddens me. We cant visit anymore and all our friends will lose their jobs. So this is not great or good news. I'm SO sorry Borders Books!

4. Last week was Valentines Day. I hate that day. I have been single my whole life. There is no other day where people are so excited about being in love then that day. So to me its just "Single Awareness Day" because no other day do you feel so single. One day sure I will get to celebrate it for real but for now nothing is great about that day. It is however my moms birthday so we do celebrate that she had fun. But although we had dinner out at Mimi's Cafe it was my sister and me and not a guy. You get the picture...

5. So Wednesday I also found out my phone was broken. Simply put. Tuesday night early Wednesday it was plugged in. I unplugged it and about an hour before bed I then plugged it back in and it wouldnt charge no matter what. I tried 3 different chargers and then hoped it was the charger itself. I woke
up too early on Wed and decided to see if my sisters charger worked well it did not. So my mom said I had to take it to an at&t on Thursday. Well we did and the charger she had worked but the battery she could not test it because she had none. So mom said go to best buy to upgrade for free since we havent gotten new phones since 2006. I did get my replaced in 2009 but not the same thing as this. Best Buy had some nice phones one I was okay with. I wanted a smartphone but its $20 a month and sadly I cant get it. So we almost got it but the computer down and my sister had to work. So Friday we went back to there and got me a new phone. Its blue and its called a Pantech Pursuit. Its more oval then rectangle and it fits in my palm of my hand. I got a case for it and I am anxious to get it protected as I am worried I will drop it. Sure I miss my other phone but I am getting used to this. It still has the keyboard, it still has a touch screen. It has some cool features too. Oh and we tested my old charger on my sisters phone and it charges that one JUST FINE! Yeah I dont get it either. She will upgrade hers too she found one she likes but we dont know when that will be. It was free just $18 to activate it.

Till next week...

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, Feb 13th 2011)

Right...

1. So today the 13th marks 3 yrs since I told them at CSB in Nashville I wanted to go to school there. On the 12th we viewed the school. I was so excited about a school that would change my life. I was sure I would get a job from it and an internship. Sadly when it closed in 2009 and never stayed open for good I was not able to do either. I tried for a few internships but none worked out then we moved. Now I cant do an internship anymore. About the only good thing I got from it was a demo and some experience. With no schools near by I lost a lot when it closed. But still it did change me in some ways...

2. So we did our second race of 2011 yesterday. It was called "The Skirt Chaser" in Tempe. Women sign up and if they are single they wear stickers for guys to chase them. Its in its 4th yr. Half the amount of women (nearly 1,000) signed up and the guys were made to wait 3 minutes for the women to run first. A 5K so it wasnt so bad (3 miles about). In the end if they were a couple and crossed together they got a special prize. A nice race before Valentines day. Had fun doing the booth for product pick up in our new black tshirts. But it was hot around 85* and we were right by the speakers. So it was hard to hear them and them hear us. But still had fun. Got free food too :)

3. Decided to ride the Light Rail. Its a sorta outdoor subway for AZ area. It goes from Tempe all the way to Phoenix (and Mesa the other way). Cost $1.75 per ride or $3.50 all day. So we rode that for fun took about 2hrs both ways we didnt go to the end. Been wanting to do it for a while. Nice to know all this for future uses when I get a job in Phoenix :)

4. My teeth been really bothering me this week. Gladly last night they are okay. I have a rotten wisdom tooth for almost 4 yrs its not out. My sis pointed out that even when its all gone it will have a hole to heal. I hope it will go away soon but may need to see a dentist to get it removed. If we hadnt been moving in 2007 when this all went down I would have had it removed then. I am SO sorry I did not. I didnt realize how fast it would do this and how much it would hurt. Currently making my whole jaw hurt at times :(

5. So I filed my taxes on turbo taxes. Now in TN we had no state tax like we have in AZ. I lost $28. Then find out that AZ is seperate to file a state so now I gotta file it on my own. I dont know how easy this will be or hard. I didnt want to pay the $27.95 to have Turbo Tax do it. I did the free version and wasnt told till the end it would costs extra even to just print it not efile it. Boo to turbo tax on that one! Hope my other tax money comes soon. Way less then last year and less then I hoped too but trying to not complain since I have nothing and it IS something!

till next time...

Sunday, February 6, 2011

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, Feb. 6th 2011)

I'm tired...

1. Today is the Super Bowl and I will try to see some of it. But I'm not a girl whos into football. I dont care who wins or loses. I will watch for commericals and I am not alone I am sure others do this too. But the whole event takes me back to the day when dad would make his burgers and homemade fries. Knowing he is doing that today in Cali and we are so near yet so far makes me sad. I wish we were back in Anaheim eating burgers and then watching the game with dad even if I didnt and still dont understand the game I miss all we had just 5 yrs ago at this time...

2. 3 years ago on the 5th of this month actually at 2am early 6th we almost had our first tornado in TN. I cant help but think of that night its so clear there. I had worked at Borders till 4. Then Mel and me went to get some cheap calendars at the other Borders in Brentwood. The skies were all dark and scary and it was unusually warm for this time of year. It had been cold not too long before and the cold did come back for some snow I think but I could be wrong...Anyways we were at Walmart that evening when my mom called and said she had heard there was a tornado in Nashville. Well we didnt have a weather radio yet and no tv so we had to guess what was going on and heard it could hit us. So we dragged all we could in the bathroom then slept downstairs. Not knowing that a tornado siren doesnt mean there is a tornado coming. We had never in our lives heard one in person. So around 2am the one at the Murfreesboro Campus started going off. We thought we had to open all our windows so we had ours open and could hear it. I yelled at Mel "Is that a TORNADO siren?" she freaked out and we both ran in the bathroom. We were only in there around 20 mint with just the radio not telling us much. Then we heard the storm had lost its power before it got to our area and so we were in for 2 hrs of harsh thunder & lightning storm but nothing else. Yes 5th of Feb always makes me think of our first almost tornado in TN...

3. We were going to go to Church today I swear. Early too the second service (or is it third?) Our church has 4 on Sundays one in the evening three in the morning afternoon. Well cause we didnt go last week we had NO idea that they changed the service times today. Now its 9am, 10:30am and 11:55am. We usually got to the 12:30 one. We were going to go today to the 11am one. Well since it was 10:30 when I heard this on my fb page I told Mel and we had no choice to skip. We could never have made the 10:30 and the 11:55 was too lateso she could go to work today. So we skipped slept a bit more. Now I'm at the library, shes at work. I will walk home in a few hrs after I get food. She will be off around 7:30. Sigh

4. So we could be doing our taxes but not all our stuff has come. Of course on one day I get my Bath & Body and my Borders but not my unemployment one. And Mels got her job now, and Borders but no unemployment. I have NO idea why they are taking so long. Last yr I had my money in my account by the 9th of Feb. Well thats Wed and we havent even filed yet.Come on tax form please come on down!! Ugh

5. So we started watching "Who Do You Think You Are?" this week first eps this season. The thing is we watched it last year along with Marriage Ref. But it takes me back to us both having computers and going online at Get Sconed on Fridays. We would go to the cute coffee shop and go online for a few hrs. Then we would come home and watch those two shows. I miss TN, I miss that shop, I miss going online on my computer not public ones, I miss a lot and I will try to remember it well even if for now I just miss it so much...

Till next week...