Sunday, July 28, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 28th 2013)

My last one for July? Really? That's insane! There are only 3 more days left this month... :O

1. Managed to get out of the house a few times this week! On Tuesday saw Despicable Me 2 again which was fun. Had Panda Express after barely and the food wasn't so fresh so that sucked but still not a bad night! Friday tried to go to a concert in Carlsbad. It only ended with us sitting in Jack in the Box, Starbucks and then realizing the church we were supposed to park by had moved (we found it after we had given up and were heading to get food and go home). Oh well it wasn't a bad day. And there lies the train station we went past last weekend. I swear I will never look at this area the same again knowing there is a train track hidden in the mountains with stops along the way. Yesterday among our usual church and shopping we tried out "Smash Burger" which was a good burger place. If we try Five Guys I will have completed my new 3 places to try (The Habit in San Diego was the 1st one we tried that few months ago).

2. The weather this week has been so nuts. Some days its warm, some days its cloudy. Few nights ago people in Orange County were getting actual rain and storms. The kind you only see during the Summer in other states not California. People forget we are in the desert too like Arizona but everything is less dramatic out here. We can still get tornados but monsoons don't exist often and big bad storms are even more rare. Awe Cali so strange still to me...

3. Well I have no job, still. This week B&N that I applied with emailed me to tell me they went with someone else or the job had closed. The thing is they didn't say WHICH B&N it was. I have applied in the past two months to at least 10 to 12 different stores. I have no idea who it was. Funny you'd think they would tell me that...how hard is it to say we are the store in blah blah city or mall or something. Also UE was freaking me out. Last weekend I found out it was out earlier then thought. Well yesterday they sent me 2 letters. One telling me I had my extension do nothing but the thing is its less. It went from $88 per week ($176 every two which is how I am paid) to $73 per week. I had promised myself to do taxes out this time around so it wont affect me as bad next year (already worried about not doing this for the first 6 months). So I figure my checks will be $131 now. I am making do. I already planned my checks from now till end of Sept. I am grateful for even some money even if its tighter and chances of saving for anything is gone. That includes bunk beds. Guess I will have to wait till I get a job (and I hope that's soon my sanity is already gone and I'm worried how much longer I can keep doing this!). I am now hopeful for November for Petsmart opening and September for Walmart. Come on job I need you more than ever!

4. Workouts this week were very slim and not there. I did ONE workout a real one on Thursday. I was still recovering on Tuesday from the weekend and took another day off. I meant to do one yesterday but bed too late Fri night I chose sleep over working out. I will be back I promise to doing them this week starting tomorrow. But one Zumba and a walk and I could tell how out of shape I was from not working out for two weeks. Even if last weekends Comic Con whipped my butt and kept me tired it didn't do much for workouts. I need to keep doing them all the time. Constantly. Oh well I'm not giving up!

5. A week ago almost on Monday, my cousin Jenny and my 2nd cousin Jordyn made a visit here. Jordyn who now lives in CO is expecting her first baby in a few months. Well it was fun hanging out. Weird her having a baby before me and so much younger (shes about 10 plus years younger then me) plus this is the first time a 2nd cousin has had a kid. I only have a few second cousins. So I guess the baby is either my 3rd cousin or my 3rd cousin once removed. How does that work? It sounds so pirate like that's where you hear it a lot Jack Sparrow "2nd cousin twice removed"huh? LOL. Anyways Jordyn is great very fun. Her and Jenny share a sense of humor. I haven't hung out with her like that probably since when we lived in Anaheim and Grandma was still alive. It was a fun 3 hrs they here and then they gone. She will be flying back to CO this week she stayed an extra week and leaves on Wed.

Well there you go. Been a long week. And a long month. And next time I write it will be August...weird world I live in for sure.

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 21st 2013)

It's been a LONG LONG LONG week...

1. Workouts this week really didn't happen. I was too exhausted from Comic-Con not sleeping much and walking around so much (I haven't had a job in nearly 8 months I am NOT used to standing on my feet half the day or more...) so no workouts. However we did go to a new trail in Fallbrook that was fun. We made it up somewhere steep rocks and higher up. And came back down. Didn't cross the river unsure if I wanted to do it in just my bare feet. We will think about coming back again sometime it was still a lot of fun!

2. I'm still not working of course. ROSS that didn't hire me opened yesterday (July 20th) and of course I didn't work it. B&N that called me for a phone interview last week emailed me this week to tell me I didn't get the job someone with better qualifications got it (which makes no sense since I've worked 7 years in books between B&N and Borders).I think she worried about me living so far away. Lame but glad I didn't go all the way down there and then told I not hired. My UE is over unless they extend. 10 day from tomorrow (Mon) if they don't extend or don't tell me they aren't or will I have to contact them. Ugh not good I thought I had till August :( Also the 17th marked 5 years since I graduated from CSB in Nashville. I was SO hopeful that this school was different and would help me advance my career. Little did I know the following March they would close my location for good and I'd have to lean on the one in Georgia for my internships and still do to this day. I miss all my classmates and since I lost their names I have only contact with a slim few on facebook...

3. We did 1st day of Comic-Con on Thursday, July 18th. We arrived at 11am and found all the assignments were taken. So we free to walk around. I had about 2hrs of sleep that day and my sister not much more. We'd taken the train down from Oceanside it was a fun experience and saved the hectic thing with parking. We couldn't see the "Beauty & the Beast" panel because it full and the line huge so we peeked at it from behind a curtain which wore us out. They did a signing in a secret room so we couldn't see them in that either. Ugh. Walked half the hall. Got tired and left. Not before running into our famous friend from high school whom I have not seen in 15 years. She is all into knowing what is going on with us how thoughtful! Was cool to see her I knew she there and just happened to be passing her by when we about to go. We only stayed till 5pm. Got our free tshirts and left.

4. Didn't do Comic-Con on Friday. But did it on Saturday. We missed our train literally by 1 min as we in front as the doors shut. No refund on the $12 ticket (so $24 total) so we thought the bus would be faster then waiting for the 1:50. We wanted to be down there by 12 for some of the shows we wanted to see. Well we had two different buses that took NO JOKE nearly 3.5hrs to get to downtown. About the same as if we had to ride the 1:50. Buses are horrible uncomfortable and crowded. I hope I never have to ride one again and if so not for THAT LONG!So we didn't get an assignment again (no shock). We there 3:30-6. Saw The Vampire Diaries panel shocking they had seats so that fun. Took some random celeb's photos in the hall. It wasn't a bad day at all actually and I left happy. And happy to ride the train back home!

5. Comic-Con day 3 is today Sunday the 21st. We went down super early. Left the house at 6am and arrived in downtown to the trolley around 7am. We checked in right away and got in line for Hall H. I have never in my life seen such a huge line. But the guys in front of us way back there (we in the harbor it was pretty far away insane) told us last year they way farther and got in. Well the Supernatural Panel began at 10am and around 10:30 we arrived and they didn't move us anymore until they cleared SPN therefore losing the only point of the line. So we wasted 4hrs and had to scoot out of there asap. Our only volunteer shift soon. First we walked across the bridge to the other side and took some pictures of some stuff there. Got some free stuff. Came back. Our volunteer thing lasted 3hrs 12:15-3:15. We didn't get anything to do till 1:15 then we could have left at 2:30 already or 2:15 because there no point us there but the guy who was in charge after the guy who brought us over didn't want us to leave till 3:15. The room was freezing and he was a pain. Only good was I saw and got pictures of some authors of books I have read and loved (Young Adult mostly). So that was fun seeing them. And a few more random celeb's pictures. After we done there we went to the exhibit hall again. Walked the whole thing front to back (or back to front) but didn't see it all we ran out of time. I had brought $40 for things if I wanted to buy. I spent $11. I got two sets of light up rings (4 each pack) for $1.00 w/a free small backpack, a beanie sock monkey hat for $5, and a keychain of a punk rocker monkey for $5 (and came with a free bag!). So in the 3 days we there we bought 1 food item total (a cookie) but ate lots of food we brought so not bad to only spend that. If you don't count train for each of us twice $24 x 2, plus trolley today $5, and gas towards today $20 it wasn't a bad deal at all. :) We left the area at 5:30 right after it closed. Comic Con is a nerd fest I grew to love and actually miss. I will seriously consider doing this again next year and dressing up and doing preview night. Unsure where we will be living but if we are out here I think its well worth a possible 3hr shift to get in free and get free stuff like a bag, tshirt, etc. Too bad Comic-Con leaves San Diego after 2016 but hopeful they will stay. Wouldn't be the same without it here!

Awesome made it to the end of this long week post. Lots happened I guess. This week is less exciting but who knows...

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 14th 2013)

Nearly half way through July can you believe that??

1. Happy 9th birthday to my sisters cat Maggie. We got Maggie right after Patches died in 2004 because we wanted Princess to not be lonely. It worked because Princess hung on for another 5.5years when we had another cat. Maggie was a wild child literally pulled from living outside where she was raised. She was older too almost 2 months old when we got her. She had been fixed and had her shots and was ready to go. Its rare to get an orange cat that is female 1 in 100. She is a big cat too last weighed in at 14 pounds few years ago. While she was okay with Princess and even Rainbow she has never liked our other cats. Plays in our room mostly at night growling and having fun. I gave her one toy today. She is shy and wont be out unless her mommy is in there and not even always then. But love her just the same. I am glad she is still with us 9 years later! Much like Jackie & Rocky we had to guess her birthday since we don't know it for real. Happy birthday Maggie Pie!

2. Our cousin Amy brought her daughter Audrey over finally to our place on Wed. We haven't seen Audrey since she was like a month old last Sept. Now she is nearly 1 year (in Aug) and a crazy sweet little girl. Honestly cant believe how old she is. She has her own personality and has a lot of growing up to do. But a pure joy. Only fueled my deep love and want for kids even more hanging out with her. Our cousin Jenny came over eventually too and we went to the beach. It was a long but fun day all around.

3. Workouts this week haven't been much. Blah. I think did one day of a real workout on Tuesday right before our babysitter showed. I didn't work out on Sunday because my shoe was drying from going in the water on our hike on Saturday. Thursday was too tired from Wed. And yesterday was just tired period. So I have done pretty much nothing this week unless you include the walk on the beach which was long on Wed and a tiny walk after the Zumba on Tue.

4. I call this jobless week totally. I never heard back from ROSS and they had orientation on Friday. The store opens this next Friday a soft opening the real one on Saturday. I was sure I would get this job. They hired 50 people and couldn't hire me? I could have used the discount. The job was 10 mint from my house. Its just NOT fair. I will never understand why I am doomed to never get a job at a new store especially a new store close to home. It never fails I never get the job I want! God is in control but its really not easy and I am worried a lot. My ue will run out the first week in August. My last check wont even be the usual amount it will just be $88. As of yesterday they mailed me and I still don't know if they are extended it or if I will have to re-apply. Worse yet I cant re-apply if I don't qualify. And do I qualify? What will I do if I lose it? I truly don't know. But come Sept I will fill this brunt fully when I have NO money for anything! Sigh. Why?? I also was told by email that JoAnn's Craft store I applied online few weeks ago will not be trying to get me. I however had a small phone interview on Fri with B&N in Mission Valley. They will let me know within the week either by email or phone if they want a real interview OR if they fill the position. I applied to LL again this week and nothing. I am feeling pretty hopeless right now and its not easy I cant believe nearly August and still no work for the whole year :(

5. July 14th marked 3 years since we last saw TN. I miss the state. I honestly don't know why we moved. I loved AZ don't get me wrong. But I could have interned in another state. We should have just moved to Georgia or some other state. I loved TN I wish we would have just hung on and given it a second chance. We believed being closer to family that it would be better. We believed we would have better lives and jobs things TN could no longer offer. In the end we lived in AZ one year and it ended in deep heartache. Was it worth it? Not really. I miss TN and I am pretty sorry we ever left. We should have stayed :(

Comic-Con is this week so it will be BUSY BUSY I plan on it. We are doing it Thur & Sun and maybe Sat. Other then that I wont be leaving the house again till Thur so I should you know get stuff done ha. :)

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 7th 2013)

Welcome to July!!

1. Job this week have not been. I will be calling back jobs this coming week that I applied with. But ROSS is silent. If I don't hear back this week on Thur I will know it is not happening as orientation is on Friday so I should know by then. I guess we shall see. I have been applying for jobs and just did my unemployment that should be paid by tomorrow. Praying if I don't get ROSS my UE is extended or I will be in trouble as of August. September will be the biggest issue as I save month before. So I will have money in August but nothing in Sept. Trying to remain hopeful!

2. Workouts this week have been blah. On Monday I did a real ZUMBA workout and again on Friday. Wednesday was out all day and nothing. But my walks have suffered more. My dog has gotten strange so that on both Mon & Fri she wont go more than a block before pulling me back home. Really sucks because she used to love walks and now she does not so it is not making me happy. If I will ever be training for a race again I hope she will be willing to train with me and stop being so freaked out all the time. Also yesterday we went to a new trail called "Elfin Forrest Trail" near us. It was a short time but a nice little workout. Especially freaky was crossing a small river/stream on rocks. Twice. We thought we could just go around but had to do it again to get back before the area closed. I got my one shoe wet which sucks but we survived and lived to tell the tale. And want to go back and do some more hiking soon. :)

3. We went to the beach for the first time in months on Monday evening. It was not a big trip. Warm weather brought everyone down there. We only put our feet in the water for like a half hour then got yogurt after. But it was a lot of fun. No complaints except wish we could have done this sooner. Go beach time yeah!!! :) Also saw "The Lone Ranger" on opening day Wed. It was a good time just wish I could have gotten sleep so I was really tired. But I liked it enough. The last half hour best. Good times all around ;)

4. The 4th of July was lots of fun actually. My sister worked but came home around 6. My uncle came over and we had burgers and later cake. The only fireworks we saw was by driving around our area to a hill and watching them from both Vista & Fallbrook. On the 3rd Oceanside had their 125th birthday so they set off fireworks. We didn't go watch them but I stood outside our house and watched them from our place with my dog. It was a lot of fun actually and not a bad view.

5. July 3rd was a bad remember day. It has been 17 years since my aunt my moms sister passed away. But 9 years ago our store Barnes & Noble closed. I was there the 3 weeks after for the tearing apart closing down part and it was depressing. I will never if possible close a store again. It is beyond sad. I hated that the store I loved closed. I wanted to stay there a few more years I was going to go full time and save. Life would have been so different had I not have had to leave. I could have moved to another B&N but decided not to. Which was lame at the time I should have just worked hard to transfer. I loved Lego after and free time at Disney for 2 years and made lots of friends so I guess it was a good thing I didn't go to another B&N. But I still miss the store and think of it often enough.

Till next week. This week will be busy as next week will be. And busy is GOOD!