Monday, August 29, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 28 2011)

Long boring week...yeah

1. I've been doing this writing thing for two weeks now. I go to the library when I am alone (only) and I take writing notes. But I have yet to actually write something other then notes. I think I need to go about this differently. My next chance isnt till this week on Fri. I am aiming to take notes and actually write something. I dont care what something that will become something or edit something I have written. Its not hard seriously. Pick up the pen and write. Or at least the computer mouse & keyboard!

2. We spent this past week every day on a heat watch. When we moved out here last year it was hot half the time it wasnt. I guess not as hot as it could be since they claim that most records were only broke this time. Maybe as this is end of Aug its records for that time period. Either way we were at between 112 and 115 each day Mon-Thur and it extended Fri & Sat. This next week Mon & Tue are going to be close too. Ah. Welcome to AZ. I cant wait for it to cool down :) 

3. We arent going to the new church anymore. We did it for two Sundays before giving up. Two guest speakers later we left scratching our heads. We did try the Chorale (Choir) too and it wasnt bad but since we arent going to the church doesnt matter. This was a trial. I did enjoy the free welcome coffee for visitors/first time people today. But when you dont have humor, when you dont use the Bible really, somethings gotta give!

4. I had a few odd ball interviews this week. I went to Chick-Fl-A for an open job fair time. I thought it was good news when I got a second interview. But I did have to stay back for that few hrs and it messed up my second interview which was at Crocs. But they didnt call me I dont like Chick-Fl-A now. I am upset that you have to have food experience for fast food. Its not a restaurant! Its not like I am asking to be a server before I am a hostess. People are stupid. The first lady liked me and had we had time we could have done first & second and I would maybe have been hired. Sigh. Crocs was not too bad. I sadly wont hear back for a couple of weeks. So there ya go!

5. I am sad to say I am not working at the Phoenix Zoo yet. It was a simple job at front they felt the need to interview me for with 3 people. I think its lame still it got me so nervous. I have NEVER interviewed with more than one person maybe two once or twice. What on earth? I did get to go in the zoo for free and ended up just visiting the Orangutans which  I had been wanting to see. Saturday got the email that I was not hired.

Till next time

Monday, August 22, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 21 2011)

Okay yeah

1. What a slow week its been. I know next week is coming up quick but when you arent working, hardly doing anything but going online its slow. Well I spent the past week going to the library where I took book notes from writing books and also from magazines. Its nice to do stuff like this I've been wanting to but havent. Then I will work on my writing. Step by step. I dont have anything to lose when its all I can do...

2. I miss interning this week. Its to the point where I cant really watch FOX news when I have the chance without crying. I'm getting better last few nights have peeked at the shows at least. But I truly do miss it a lot and hoping still something will change and open there so I can go back. Even as an intern sooner the better!

3. We've been having some crazy whether. We had our 4th haboob (pronounced haboo) this week! On Thur just as we were exiting Del Taco it came up behind us. This was the first time I SAW it coming and it was kind of freaky like some of the plagues from Egypt here come the flies run! We hid inside of Sprouts for a few mint then went home only to find it had only just begun and was SO glad to be inside at home for it. This next week we are having record temps between 113 and 115 each day till Fri. Excessive heat watch till Thur night. Ick. 

4. So I talked to the guy working with me at CSB in GA and he is helping me get a job. At least I hope he is. I talked to him for 40 mint on Fri and now I'm looking into jobs for my career as well as jobs. Its confusing. I spend half my time online looking for jobs and past few days that included internships and bigger jobs. Its still not easy but my foot in the door with FOX hasnt gone away if anything opens up! Hopeful.

5. Saw 2 movies this last week. 1 good and 1 not as good. First we saw "Green Lantern" even in cheap seats it was totally worth seeing in theaters! I really like Ryan Reynolds for the main character he is growing as an actor and all the stuff of his I have seen I have loved. I love super hero movies and masks. So it was good. But cheap seats on cheap Tue always no fun thats all I'm saying. Then on Sat we saw for free the newest Planet of the Apes film. Now I must first say I am NOT into these films. I never was. I have seen the first one and never went past that. I am unsure if i ever finished the first one. But I went cause it was free and my sister wanted to see it and it had James Franco. But it really was just lots of monkeys and apes which I love cause I love monkeys. Well it was them getting smart and escaping and killing people. Saddest was Tom who plays Draco in the HP films dying. He never gets a break! I did like James Franco for the film and he is a great actor as well. So I would say it was okay. My sister who has seen all the other films to date (I think) said it was much like the original first one. I never get why they remake films all the times. Just leave the old ones alone! (True Grit just finished it on dvd and it was very good better then the original one!).

Thats the week in a wrap! 

Monday, August 15, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, August 14th 2011)

Yeah...

1. Tuesday was a super busy day for me! I had my second interview with Gymboree which turned out to be a real loser thing. I'm sorry I am not shocked at all when she asked me about my experiences as a supervisor fresh up and the girl before her made it sound like you DONT need that kind of experience for a keyholder. I think it sucks I will never be able to put my retail experiences to good use, and I REALLY wanted this job but sadly I did not get a call back on Friday.

2. I'm sort of missing our crazy storms. We only have had a few this Summer. Last year we had so many it was shocking to find this year there have been few. As long as I am under cover and not out in it I dont care for the weather. And its fun to try to take pictures of the lightning sometimes too :)

3. On Wednesday me and my sister went to a HUGE job fair in Paradise Valley. I got lots of free stuff but no jobs yet. I am still working on applying for the ones online I qualify for but have not gotten very far sadly. But it was fun getting free coffee (Dunkin Donuts & Starbucks) and lots of free stuff.

4. I have been encouraged to work on my writing when I am not doing anything else. But now I am baffled where I to start. Freelancing? Poetry published? Memoirs? Young Adult Books? I have all these ideas for years but to actually put them to use kind of baffles me. So I am researching books & magazines, will work on some ideas and in the end go with what I feel is the best first place to start. Shall see...

5. Sadly I am no longer interning at FOX. I was not hired as they had no openings and now I wont see them again till next Spring unless something opens up there. I miss them a lot and had a nice last week. I came in 4 times and had 2 days where I came in early for the morning show. I think I am now interested in productions which is a good thing to know seeing I didnt know that coming in. We shall see. I'm trying to be hopeful that someone will drop and I can do this in the fall. But unsure what the future holds.

till then...

Monday, August 1, 2011

Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 31st 2011)

Lets get to it!

1. My internship last week was only 3 days. Its hard to believe I am down to 2 weeks of this thing and that just makes me sad :( But I love going to the meetings, working on my writing (which is what I got to do), and I am getting withdraws since I havent been there since last Wed. Yikes! Come on hire me even for a little bit please.

2. The construction is getting closer to our apt. But according to our neighbor since we arent getting ourselves new machines she said they shouldnt make us get the pipes done. I'm praying she is right. Rainbow wont go potty in the other rock areas and I need to let her go some place few times a day! Bad enough she got ticks and cant go to the grass anymore :(

3. So on the job front. I got a call on Wed for a job interview tomorrow (Mon) at Barnes & Noble. The odd thing is I havent applied there in a year. I am excited for the possibility. I havent interviewed with the company since 2007 in TN at the Opry Mills Mall. I have tried mind you applied like crazy. I have been trying to get back in the company for a while now...so I am hoping its a good thing seeing its a year old app that it could be the real thing. Should know by end of wk if I get a second interview! Then there is the amazon.com thing I was so hopeful for. I got called last week and it was last Fri to come down at 1pm for a "prescreening". What a bunch of BS the whole thing was. I went down there at 12:50 and was told ALL the positions were filled 30mint before. They didnt call me or anything. I could get in line and wait for someone to decide to NOT take a position (hired on spot) but I would be behind 1,000 people. Yeah not fun nor happy. 45 mint drive to find this out. They were so rude too kinda glad I didnt get the job!

4. So we saw Cowboys & Aliens on Fri before the amazon thing. It was a very good movie! I am glad we got to go and see it. Its aliens so dont expect it to be pretty. But with the current James Bond actor Daniel Crag, and of course Harrison Ford you really cant go wrong. Unless you hate them, and aliens and cowboys...

5. So Sunday the 21st the church is starting this (unknown long) study for married people. I think its kinda of wrong for them to be doing this on the morning. Maybe at night, or the week. But making it the morning study is wrong to me. Sure its great save marriages. But why do that when people like us ARENT married. I know not everyone is married there. So now we have to figure out what we will be doing while its going on since there is no point in going. And I went to the sex thing last year too sheash!

Till next week...