Sunday, January 26, 2014

Weekend 5 (Sunday, January 26th 2014)

Here we are the last Sunday in January 2014. That is simply crazy. This month has flown by so fast and yet been incredibly slow. So far for this year I am not doing so great on my new years resolutions. I still don’t have a job well more below. So far not liking 2014. Praying for miracles the next 11 months of this year! And moving on…

1. This has been a sour week for me. And I didn’t think it would be sadly. On Monday I called Petsmart (just wrote about this in my UPDATED job blog listed link earlier on twitter) that I had worked hard to go to near two weeks ago. The manager who liked me a lot and even said so when he answered that they would probably know by Wednesday. For 2 days I held onto hope Monday & Tuesday. When Wednesday came I was like maybe he not done deciding yet. Sadly I called on Friday and he can only take on 1 or 2 people and not me. He said check back in a few weeks the hours are slow now but they might change maybe they can set something up. But I kind of need a job like yesterday and I am almost unsure if I will be looking still by then (praying not that is just horribly wrong but who knows!). So I lost that job. Before that I found out not only am I NOT getting unemployment which I find incrediably wrong for them to send me paperwork saying I am after telling me I am not. Its wrong and I hate it and I wont lie the government unemployment sucks. I hate that I have to rely on this. Well they got my letter for appeal which means not only will I not be getting it but if I want to try for it I have to go to court. Which is something I do not want to do and I do not think is worth it. So I am going to call tomorrow have them remove my appeal request. I am just praying now that congress passes the extensions again. I really need this money badly. I had 1.5 checks I lost when this ended on the 28th of December. I know others are hurting too. So praying for miracles but unsure if I will see any results for this before February cutting it so close. So no jobs for me. I keep applying to jobs mind you. Barnes & Noble hasn’t turned me down more recent. I have applied to 8 different job openings at LL. I am hopeful for this not till they turn me down will I not be. So there you go. Please keep me in prayers.

2. Got closer than we have in ages today at starting to organize our stuff in the garage. This will be a LONG process mostly looking in boxes. Deciding to keep or not and repacking them. You are looking at the stuff out there has been there 2.5 years that’s a long time. I haven’t seen most of my stuff since September 2011. Some in storage but that’s still mostly furniture. Since we cant unpack the stuff sadly its more going through it slow and then putting back. And organizing. We wanted to do a huge day of it yesterday but that didn’t happen (we both fell asleep so tired). Today we did go through a few boxes in one pile. I now have some office supplies to keep me happy. I was just beyond thrilled today to find some of my stuff that I used to have at my desk in Arizona in my hands. Ironic it included my index cards because I just bought some more. But hey I can always use them no complaints they aren’t that costly. So yeah hopeful next Sunday we can do a real day of this. We got home too late to do too much but did prevent one huge pile of boxes from falling over and taking everything with them. You have no idea till you deal with it what it is like to have piles of boxes for several years not being moved and stacked wrong. They start to fall apart. This isn’t the only pile to almost fall over we have plenty more. Again will take time and the energy to go out there and find time to do it. So wish us luck ha ha.

3. So this week been spending time with my guitar. I love my acoustic guitar. I got it way back a good 12 plus years ago. I am unsure when I just remember being inspired by the ones used at church and when used with groups like Jars of Clay. I didn’t use it for years sadly just sat there. My sister started to use it then got her own. I took a guitar class at Fullerton Junior College in 2006 till we moved and I had to stop going all together sadly. Anyway I need to work on it some tonight. Trying for a daily time on there. I have this week for homework and playing with it. Class is going well. Our teacher is a hoot he says the craziest stuff I think he is insane like we are but so far love the class. Sure we have no order and no idea what the homework is still. But hey I am trying. Possibly might take another class or two online in March. This is totally up in the air. But if not then I have this and its guitar so there you go. Nice.

4. We did go to our church group this week ago on Friday night 30:40 at NCCC. It wasn’t bad I got something out of it. And that didn’t include the yummy brownies before hand. I am just happy to get out so much now every other week we are keeping this going so well its awesome. And today surprise we came back to OUR church. We haven’t been since Christmas Eve sadly. Month got away from us. So it was nice being back at church. We did a 3rd service which meant no food before and barely coffee. But not bad still glad to be back. I know I don’t talk a lot about my faith on here and this wont be a huge add on. But wanted to say God has been trying to get me to have more faith in Him. Two weeks back during our 30:40 his theme was faith. This time it was about staying on the boat or getting out. I found some peace in this that I didn’t know I needed. I have been spending so much time since we moved out here especially more so since I lost my job in 2012. I know now that I am just in my boat and I need to wait on Jesus and just be at peace. I need to stop freaking out we cant move out again, I cant get married or have kids or a career. When the time is right I will arrive at my next place. Or till then I will be in my boat. It doesn’t matter how long I am in this boat (and if we count our move out here its 2 years 5 months) or what but God will get me there I just need to rely on Him. An on going lesson I will probably be trying to learn my entire time on earth.

5. I would like to proudly announce I have been working out again. Yes can I get a big WOOHOO!! I haven’t worked out since last year and I am unsure at this point when that was. But this week three count them THREE DIFFERENT DAYS I worked out! Monday & Friday I dedicated to a 20 mint Zumba, 10 mint walk, and 6 min bike. And Wednesday my middle day I dedicated to 45 min wiifit, 10 min walk, 6 min bike. This week will not be so much. Only tomorrow & Thursday but yes I am working out!! I love it. The way I felt on Monday tired but happy proved my body wanted to work out all along. I am still coughing like here and there very rare. Think I am near over my 3 week sickness. Yes working out. Yes its great!!

Well I bid the farewell and to you January good day sir I pray that your friends and family after are more kind to me. And we get some rain cause California is in this bad drought. Maybe next weekend might rain some who knows if that will happen shall see. Shall see. Have a good one everyone!!

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Weekend 5 (Sunday, January 19th 2014)

One more Sunday in January. So insane time is flying by this month!

1. Weather was really insane this week. HOT as Summer. Not kidding. Had several days more than half this week where it was mid 80’s. And then drops low at night. It sadly is just super dry right now and was windy causing some fire(s) for our state. More dry then normal compared to last year. We have not had any rain in a month at least. So while it was not Summer like it was really confusing. I do not have any fans in the house so during the day if it got warmer than when the windows only open I had to use my mini fan by my computer only. Glad we back to 70’s this week much better. Ah California…

2. Still sick but pretty much better. Its been 2 weeks since my sore throat began this ugly mess. Two days ago I stopped coughing much. I will stop my med’s tonight gladly leave extras for next time. I do cough when I am laughing, out of breath, tired or nervous. Hope this will end too but the worst is gone. I am going to workout tomorrow I promise just unsure how much or what will be doing. I need to workout again I am SO out of shape.

3. Well Unemployment is ignoring me. I wrote them like Tuesday last week and guess what nothing. I sent in my appeal on Thursday but possible it could take months if they take it to go through unsure. The government is a mess did not decide this week now on break for a week so next time they talk is the 27th. I am not counting on this. And not having a good time not working. I miss working. And I need to have a job by the 8th and 12th of Feb. I do not know what to do anymore. I am applying all over. LL is back to hiring again and so far not rejecting me. I apply here and there. So not getting a job not for lack of trying I am trying harder then ever. But if no extension and no new UE because they promised me it and now say nothing I am in big trouble. If you pray please pray I find work or get unemployment something I am running out of time and its stressing me out!

4. I am now a college student again. C-R-A-Z-Y for real! Its been 7 years since I went to school at MiraCosta College and now I am going again. Nothing like then. Then I went for 6 units, 4 classes. Now I have 1 class Guitar 1 cause my sister is helping us out to let us both go. Got my books, and going to hopefully get an id this week. I love learning guitar already had fun with our first class. Saturday mornings 10-11:50am. I even had homework I just did. I also need to work on my guitar and get my fingers start to being used to this again. But fun. Glad our teacher doesn’t remember us. We took another one of his classes it was like guitar music theory in 2007 but so far he doesn’t remember us. 7 years is a LONG time!

5. Yesterday was a long day. We went to a Going Away Party for this girl and her husband and baby. They are moving to Texas tomorrow. It was touching we inspire her. “If you guys can do it so can we” speaking of us moving from CA to TN in 2007. She is good friends with our cousin but we knew her growing up I am sure we hung out a few times. Her baby is adorable like a little doll. So we went there at 5:30-7:30. Everybody was drinking we didn’t drink. Only knew a few people. After we left (it was going on still we just wanted to go too many people few we knew) went to our cousins house. Visited with her, her husband and baby girl (2 in August for real). Went at 8:30 left at 11 meant to leave at 9:30. I was so tired. I had NO sleep yesterday (not my fault) so I was nearly falling asleep so I mentioned this so we could go. Plus her little was going to go to bed. But we had fun. Maybe more fun than the party. But still it was great. Long day but fun.

Well that’s all. This week isn’t so crazy but still doing stuff. Till next weekend have a good one!

Sunday, January 12, 2014

Weekend 5 (Sunday, January 12th 2014)

Welcome to the 2nd weekend in 2014. Almost half way through the first month of the new year CRAZY stuff there! How’s your year going so far?

1. Not have the best start to this new year. My computer issues continue to haunt me. I am just dealing one day at a time with them and sometimes dealing with them by not going online. Firefox works usually. But still use internet explorer for things like blogger. Pandora I haven’t used in a while but usually use my ipod keeping it near by. I spent most of my amazon gift card now so I don’t really have the money for it. And the money from my end I am saving for something else in the future unsure how the future will be. Unemployment continues to not write me anymore. I haven’t heard back from them in a week now. If I don’t hear back by Saturday next weekend I will contact them. In the mean time the lovely government hasn’t said yes to the extensions for UE being back on track. So my life is pretty much up in the air. I do apply to jobs much as I can. This coming week I hope I am feeling better (more below) so I can contact some temp agencies. But really all I can do is hope, pray, apply and wait. I cant do much. I had an almost job fair Friday at Sketchers and when I was done filling out my app she said to me “we are just collecting apps and calling people back next week” no kidding. I have never been to a job fair where you don’t get an interview on the spot that is the WHOLE point of going to one as opposed to just applying when you hear they hiring. Makes NO sense at all!

2. Been sick now one whole week. Still fighting this ugly monster. Sunday was sore throat and a little fever achy bones. Monday I was sore throat, cold some cough. Then Tuesday the cough kicked it up a notch and I spent three nights Tue, Wed & Thur suffering when my cough meds weren’t enough to get me to sleep right away losing sleep each night getting up later each day (therefore losing daytime to do other stuff) just to try to catch up but not much on the lost sleep. I am grateful my cough is pulling back and I have more of the meds that do help. So I hope within the next week I will be 100% better. Not fun being sick!

3. The 6th of this month marks 4 years since my beautiful cat Princess Angel died. She might have been 17.5 years old, skinny and sick there at the end. But I loved her so much and I miss her so much. Don’t get me wrong I love our other 3 cats but they aren’t my cat they are just shared cats. Its not the same thing. She was mine and mine alone. She lost her sisters in 2004 and it broke her heart I could tell but she still hung on another 6 years. I prayed she would make it to 18 and she almost did. I was with her there at the end when she went. I believe animals go to heaven and I will see her someday again but still miss her truly. Princess Angel always in my heart forever more : (

4. Friday we got back to the group 30:40 at the Calvary Chapel in Carlsbad. It was a fun time nice study. In a different room. Sure the pastor talked about marriage way too much even if not everyone there is married which didn’t find cool. But it was cool to see friends and meet new people. The study was in faith something I am still learning so much about. I took notes on my ipod touch again its fun to do this and then email them to myself later on. Best I can do. So it was nice to be back even if it wasn’t the 1st Friday of the month. Shall see if we can make it again on the 24th.

5. Yesterday I applied again to go to school at MiraCosta College. My sister is paying for us to each take a class. We are limited to 1 unit classes. 1.5 might be pushing it. I wish I could chip in something for this. There are SO many classes I wish I could take. Creative writing, drawing, stuff for jobs like office or career class, guitar, jazz, ballet and they aren’t offering it by tap 1 (they are offering only tap 2 which is odd but who knows why). So more than likely we are going to take guitar. If we can get in one of the two classes. Sadly we waited so long the app wont be in the system till the day class starts if we do the Wed one. So kinda unsure still what we are taking or what day. Hope by next weekend know more and write it here. 7 years ago SO LONG AGO we took tap, piano, and a dance stretch class. 6 units so I could try to do an internship. Which I did try in San Diego one time. Sadly unlike the other places I tried years later they only took so many people and I didn’t pass the first part of the their test whatever that was. And we moved and then in 2008 I went to CSB in Nashville. Now I can intern anywhere I want no more school needed which is neat. But that was my first shot at it. We had so much fun even one semester in school. I went there inbetween working at B&N. Good times. One of the few good times we had first part of that year…

Well there you go. Hope everyone has a nice week. And I feel better by next weekend. In fact by next weekend I hope I am well, know more about unemployment, maybe had an interview somewhere and know about what is going on with MiraCosta too! HOPEFUL!

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Weekend 5 Sunday, January 5th 2014

Welcome to 2014! Hope all my readers had a nice holiday and are having a good new year. I am doing okay…but I could be better…

1. Had a rough start to the New Year. I am getting sick possibly again. Woke today with a sore throat which I hate more than I hate what follows. Ick. My sister has been sick for the past few days so I am not shocked as I haven’t gone out before today in like 5 days where I got it from. But what can I do we share a room. It was bound to happen. Hoping this doesn’t get worse just better shall see. Ew.

2. One of my New Years Resolutions working out more is not happening yet. I will NOT let this get me down tomorrow I plan to really work out. Our weather has been behaving. Zero rain, not bad during day and cold at night. Shall see. I am glad to say as we speed towards Spring that its not getting dark AS late. It actually is now light till closer till 5:30 while few weeks ago it was getting dark before 5. Yeah for more day light!!

3. Well couple of things went down in the past week. Unemployment said good bye to me claiming because I didn’t work all of last year I cant get UE. And then yesterday they said I can get it again but its way smaller. Down to $65 per week (my lowest yet). Plus its only for 7 weeks total I figure after taxes will round out to $117. Am I getting this? I pray so. Tomorrow the government people come back in office and we are hoping I will get my extension back that was cancelled on the 28th. While I would take both of these I would take the new UE in the end over the extension if I had to choose. I pray I am getting something or its going to be a long cold winter till I get a job. That includes future movies (and there are some good ones coming out!). Going to the Safari Park or ZOO before our passes expire. My moms birthday next month, etc. You get the point. In the mean time my computer the poop is being just poopy. I use firefox now sometimes but sometimes I don’t. On firefox I cant use blogger it claims my “cookies aren’t turned on” when they are. When I turn them off I can get to the sign in page but once I sign in it says I need cookies. And when I put them back on it claims they are off again. Sigh. So back to internet explorer which I prefer for some things. Also Pandora lovely wont come on firefox it claims I need a flash player. I have NEVER seen that for firefox. Plus my laptop doesn’t have the latest so this being an issue is totally new. And I’ve been using that free radio for years. I don’t have a job lined up. I am applying like crazy every chance I get. Tomorrow I get to call back some places I applied with, call Petsmart again hoping they give me the call clear to apply again. Pray UE gets fixed. My laptop will be nice so I can keep my $$. I would prefer it this way. I could keep my $7 and use rest of my gift card on amazon for something I want not a wifi adapter. But I will do what I have to get this fixed. Dumb computers sometimes technology sucks. Hope for better things before next weekend!

4. New Years Eve was a big deal. Last year my sister wasn’t working so we spent half the night watching all the stuff on tv and going on our laptops. What a difference a year makes. The laptop she used is now in the garage, still messed up. She has a used one. I am on mine still (with issues). So I followed her to Legoland had some fun by myself. I didn’t spend too much money on food. I brought my own food bought some desserts and a coffee refill at the end there. I went on one ride and watched the brick drop. I found all the santas in Mini land and took pictures of them and the tree and lights. When they closed I hung out in the lobby of the new hotel my first time “inside” what a treat. Wish I could have seen more. But saw lots still more pictures. Than Carl’s Jr for dinner. Toasted in midnight then everyone but went to bed (was kind of sad) and I went last. Like most of the major holidays last year it didn’t feel like it was New Years Eve. New Years Day nothing special. Sister worked. Had ham which lasted 3 nights total. I overslept missed the rose parade sad they didn’t put it on the app for my ipod.

5. As promised here is the year in review I wrote up. I originally meant this for facebook and livejournal. But then I couldn’t do a note on facebook for it. So here it is in its full glory and its long. Sorry!

January 2013—saw 2 movies thanks to movie tickets for Christmas. Les Miserables on the 1st which was excellent so sad I was crying a lot but so good too. Later on we saw “The Hobbit” again but in 3D which wasn’t worth the 3D but we tried it! I got approved for unemployment at the end of the month one of the biggest highlights of that month was knowing I would be okay for the year till I got a job. Built some of our lego sets but didn’t finish them all sadly. I didn’t have a job yet month one.

February 2013—Beginning of the month we ran/walked “The Electric Run” that took place at the Del Mar race track. First of all doing anything on the track was something else. Havent been there since we volunteered for The Mud Run in October 2011. Was told later on that it was more than 3 miles probably close to 4 miles around crazy not a 5K. It was fun with the glowing stuff but decided not to do it again. Exhausting and more than once in dark spots I almost tripped. Plus it was longer than expected. It was free pancake day at IHOPE got to do that again always a fun time! Managed two movies both sort of romantic. The ever loved “Warm Bodies” (I since read the book and they did a not bad job!). And later on Beautiful Creatures which I didn’t like at first but since then love it enough to own the movie (plus it was $2 why not!). Parents traded in their van for a new used one which we all got to used to eventually but still miss the old one sometimes. Went to La Jolla for my mom’s birthday including The Birch Aquarium which we had been to before but my parents had not! I didn’t have a date/love for Valentine’s Day again my 33rd year of this…and no jobs 2nd month.

March 2013—My favorite month by far. We both got NICE tax returns (this might have been in Feb.) I got my new ipod touch which I love and I guard with my life whenever I take out in public. Ran/Walked The Saint Patrick’s Day Run on the 17th. It was so much fun! Even tried beer (its gross btw unsure if ever will again ha ha). The following Sunday was The Hot Chocolate Run also so much fun. And lots of chocolate it was yummy time!! After we tried out our Zoo passes for the first time we were exhausted from the race so we only was there a few hours but we still had some fun. Tired but fun. Easter was in March which was rare. We saw “Wizard of OZ” in 3D at 9pm night before it out. That was memorable because the power went out in the theater before our movie and eventually we all had to move to a larger theater as ours didn’t work right. Fun times great film loved it! 3rd month no job.

April 2013—We did the Safari Park with our passes first time back in near two years. Took our cousin and she did some stuff we could never including riding the zip line like ride. But was fun watching her on it! Went to the beach walked on it and my sister almost lost her flip flop. She dropped it and the ocean got it but was back on the rocks dirty and wet but okay. Funny but not so funny had she lost it. I did some job applications at the Outlet mall in Carlsbad while my sister worked. We saw The Host another favorite movie love. There was The Boston Marathon bombing which was sad and scary. Same day as that my sister had a car accident which wasn’t cool. She okay but still. 4th month no job.

May 2013—Our favorite film of the year so far “Iron Man 3” we saw it THREE times in one month. My sister saw it a 4th time inbetween us seeing it again and again. Best film ever possibly so far. Also saw “Star Trek Into Darkness” not a bad film either. My sister used a rental car while the jeep being fixed. We remembered losing grandma 7 years ago on the 10th. I began to find out I wouldn’t be able to work at Legoland for a while. Which I thought I would be back at as of May as I was told this in February. 5th month no job.

June 2013—Saw “Now You See Me” once and a second time unsure when but it wasn’t too far after this maybe in July? It was our favorite movie of the year as me and my sister gave it to each other at Christmas too funny! Its awesome. Also saw “Man of Steel” and “Monster University”. Remembered my dog Cocoa’s birthday on the 8th she’d have been 24 if alive. Rainbow turned 11 years old. Rocky & Jacky turned 5 years old. Its been 15 years since I graduated from high school. 6th month no job.

July 2013—Biggest month of the year when we got to volunteer 3 out of the 4 days for Comic Con. It was an experience not to be missed. And totally free. Except for the cost to get down there we rode the train both ways once, one time we rode the bus then train later on, last time we parked so we rode only the red trolley in down tow to and from our car. We only did get a shift on Sunday other two days we came for a few hours just saw and left again. But fun all around cant wait to do this again in 2014! Saw movies “The Long Ranger” sad how bad it did at box office it was a good film loved it. Also saw “Despicable Me 2” twice we loved it that much. Saw fireworks sort of on the 4th from far away. We also hiked on The Elifin Trail and I dipped my foot in the water it wasn’t fun lol. 7th month no job.

August 2013—went to Safari Park for the Ring Tailed Lemur exhibit that was going away later that month. It was fun getting so close to them love those my favorite! Went to Legoland first time since thought I would be working there. My unemployment got its first extension. Saw “City of Bones” which was good! Best of the month was going to Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific with my cousin. Its huge was fun and even rode the boat after so that was cool too! 8th month no job.

September 2013—a lot of happened! We tried to volunteer for Dana Point but scared away by how much commitment they wanted from us. We celebrated double on my dads birthday weekend also for Mistys birthday she turned 27 on the 17th. We went to Point Loma Lighthouse, played in the tide pools/beach a little. Then ended up in Little Italy for pizza dinner was a fun long day. Remembered 9/11 12 years later. And grandma’s birthday on the 29th sad still we couldn’t do a balloon due to a helium shortage most places didn’t sell the cheap balloons we wanted. Went to Redlands for their art show. I had a small health scare that ended okay but wasn’t fun. 9th month no job.

October 2013—Pastor Chuck died on the 3rd at age 86 years old which began a bumpy month. I had a call from LL a guy who was in HR who thought he should call me and explain but not really make sense about why I wasn’t getting called to work there. NO thank you! We began to go to a new group called 30:40 for people in their 30’s and 40’s at North Coast Calvary Chapel in Carlsbad. Not a bad group love the free food and coffee. Misty’s social worker came over on a rainy day that also I went to our mall to apply for jobs. We did not do a lot for Halloween. Candy was not a lot, couldn’t find much half off at midnight. We did a pumpkin but waited till almost end of month. I missed working a lot. 10th month no job.

November 2013—Saw two movies “Enders Game” which was a good movie not bad for compared to book. Then “Catching Fire” it was very good just very intense but loved it. Went to “The San Diego Zoo” first time since March spent more time there but still didn’t see it all. We both got really sick enough to be for me a month till I stopped coughing. Blame the zoo or CiCi’s after someone got us both sick same day. I wrote and finished my 6th NaNo book and tried to do the PAD (poem a day) I still need to work on those. Thanksgiving was nearly end of month. And sadly on the 30th Paul Walker died. I didn’t work my first black Friday since 1999 that alone was insane for me thought I’d have a job by then. 11th month no job.

December 2013—Rounding out the year. I turned 34 and my sister turned 31. For her birthday we didn’t do as much as thought ended up going to Legoland. Then later on we went to Mimi’s CafĂ© and downtown San Diego for this light thing. We saw “The Hobbit 2” (it has a name I know don’t feel like putting down) with my dad. Went to San Diego Zoo again with our parents early celebration for my birthday. On my actual day we just went to La Jolla for a few then Red Robbin. In the morning my sister and me went to Denny’s. Had a nice Christmas uncle and cousin came over. Got all the calendars I wanted. New Years Eve spent at Legoland. I lost my ue along with millions in USA. And found out that I wont be getting UE at all unless government extends what we all lost. I cant re-apply as I haven’t worked. I ended 2013 wondering what will happen as my $$ will be gone end of Jan if something doesn’t changed. Lost my chance for job at Petsmart and trying to be hopeful when they hire again soon this month I can get another shot God willing. I need a job. 12th month no job.

Till next weekend have a good one!