Monday, July 28, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday July 27, 2014)

As suspected I am doing this one day late on July 28th sorry for the delay it’s been a LONG LONG weekend! And the last in July no less… Let’s call this weekend 6 not 5 too much for the norm enjoy!

1. Due to asking for so much time off work for this past weekend I only worked one time since I last wrote (lucky me I work today! But that’s another week all together…) which was on Tuesday. If I haven’t mentioned before and this goes for ANY job present or past: I hate closing. I would rather sleep little to none and get to work at 6am then to close. Its twice as exhausting as working any shift including early morning and I have done nearly all the shifts you can have. (Except the rare 4am no thank you!). So yes I closed last week and it was crazy. Our system is being changed on the computers and today I get to find out if it is and get to re-learn that if it is. Not too excited. But work is work. I am getting 14 hours this includes having to switch today for Friday so I could have that off & caused me to lose 30 min. Today I work 6.5 (after a lunch) and then same shift on Saturday but we close half hour later so I will get at least 7 that day. Not bad seeing two weeks back I got 14 hours from THREE days not two. Hope they keep doing this I really need it with school books coming kinda costly and me nearly broke and having issues (unless I get them for free or something like that which I wont know till week before school starts SIGH).

2. Workouts this week were okay. I managed two walks actually. Half power walk half regular. But my workout days fell after I was tired from working. I doubt tomorrow will be any different. But hey my dog gets out I get out and after I am not AS sore as running. Maybe this week (shall see) I can get in one or two real workouts maybe… There was lots of walking though at Comic-Con and all the stuff getting there and doing stuff after or before so I did walk around more than 2 days at home but I never count that…

3. Thursday went down and did an English Placement test. We have taken classes this is our 3rd time now at Mira Costa and we never wanted to take English at all. Wanted to take a Creative Writing class but due to never having taken the test had to do that. Both of us having not taken English or the sorts in either high school or college for over 10 years or more each we thought we would be in the lowest possible class. Guess what!? We both got to ENGLISH 100 which is actually the class right before Creative Writing! So we can now take that in the Spring. Now I just need ANOTHER $80 for books. Tomorrow I get to call Palomar where I’m taking more classes then my sister (shes not taking any there I think) and ask about their program. But for Mira Costa you have to wait one week before classes to apply. Its kinda lame and seems so last minute plus they might not have your books. But if I qualify I can get my books for free or maybe half of the total now. Which would help. IF both schools did this I really need it then I would be okay. At this point with little hours and not saving for this advance I will not have enough money for my books till we are at least two weeks to a month after semester begins on August 18th. So I am trying to be hopeful things work out or I get lots of hours at work in the next two weeks (especially since my schedule changes and cant work Monday & Wednesdays starting week of school AND have to ask for that Thursdays off too for school thing). School will keep me busy. But I still need to look for a second job or a real job or something. Trying to be positive that things will fall into place God willing but my faith has never been that big in any areas no matter how much I try…

4. Day 1 of Comic-Con for us or Day 2 for those going (Day 3 if you did preview night) was on Friday, July 25th. Unlike last year we did Friday, Saturday and Sunday. While last year we did Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. So doing Friday was totally new for us. We got down there kinda early at 11:30am and was SHOCKED to find we had a shift. Last year we came on Thursday opening day you’d think not being opening day and less going on we’d get a shift but we didn’t and yet came on Friday the first of three busy days and got a shift? Plus they changed the rules. Last year we did a 2hour shift that lasted about 1.5hours it wasn’t that long! This year they require you to do THREE HOURS. And with us being outside for our walk over and such going and coming it was nearly 4 hours totally so most of our day. First I got some young adult authors to sign was very fun. They are super nice people! On our shift we saw actor Seth Green go by he is crazy hyper and was having too fun. Just wish I could have gotten his picture. When he came back around I barely saw him and for a picture it was tiny and far away. I know its him but still. It was cool haven’t seen a big time celeb in person in forever so that was nice. Also made it into the Sleepy Hollow (tv show) panel. It was fun seeing this. The line seemed long but went so fast and we got seats. Never seen Falling Skies but it was before and we came in before it began so we watched two panels that day. I might check that show out sometime even if its in its last season this year… The train ride in was interesting we sat by a grandma from Georgia and her grand daughter and she had a baby girl on her lap so they were super nice way up. Way back our train was the seat by the back car and well it was noisy and scary. But we alone didn’t have to share the seat or anything. Not bad. I got sunburnt earlier walking around outside which wasn’t great. And it was very hot out. Before going in saw some lighting but it never rained for us (in the mountains rained some). I don’t mind rain but the timing during SDCC would have sucked! So that was day 1.

5. Day 2 of Comic-Con for us (Day 3 or Day 4 for others) was on Saturday, July 26th. We got a late start on Saturday didn’t get on the train till 11:07. We had bad stuff happen last year on Saturday and for some reason our jinx continued. My sister left her badge at home and my dad had to bring it. We barely got on the train on time. But a guy dressed as Wolverine and so much looked like him came and had to sit by us at the 2nd stop on the way. It was a fun ride with him there. The way back well it was not fun at all. The train so crowded and kept stopping for no reason and the mean guy who ran the train kept yelling at people by the doors to not sit down and find a seat even if there was NO seats. He made people not even leave one seat open for their bags . Lots of people were on there from comic-con and our bags are heavy and bulky and need their own seat. And we had a couple force us to sit across from each other. So we were cramped and uncomfortable. So that is why we didn’t take the train on Sunday. Got there on Saturday finally around 2 didn’t half a shift. Ended up going to the Grimm panel it was in Ballroom 20 if you know SDCC you know that it is the 2nd biggest popular room. Last year we scooted in there on Saturday by chance none there for The Vampire Diaries. Well we got in a long line and by a miracle got inside. It was SUPER fun seeing them on stage I got lots of pictures. They are awesome as the show is. We didn’t stay for TVD thing and went down stairs instead. Walked around where you buy stuff kind of window shopped a little. I always forget how crazy that place is I think you need one full day or some on each day (4 days would be good) to see every booth. Never have and never will. Made our train and were miserable on the way back…

6. Day 3 of Comic-Con for us (Day 4 or 5 for others) was Sunday, July 27th. We decided to drive down again (did that last year) but not as early. We left our house around 10am. And it began to rain no kidding. First thunder and lightning not cool then POURING RAIN on the freeway. It was like the most rain seen like that in the Summer out here in like forever. It never rains for us this was a humid day again as Friday was. Well by time we got to San Diego it was dry out and no rain guess it was just for us and just for show on the road. Got to the trolley station and it packed at Old Town. Ended up going back to Mission Valley Mall and parking there. Road the trolley in to downtown. Walked to Dunkin Donuts for breakfast and coffee. Then walked around outside Comic-Con. We didn’t work so we were just inside for a few hours. It closed at 5 we walked inside around 2:30. First we did the young adult signing the line super long but they all so nice got some of my favorite authors. I actually got everyone to sign even those I didn’t know. Then we went to the hall and walked around. We each bought a few small things nothing major. They sure are mean. If its after 5 and you still buying they kick you out. We finally got out of there. But sheash man. Then we couldn’t even stay outside the bathrooms after we had to go outside. And crossing the street I mean everyone cranky or something? Not the ones from inside everyone outside. We walked back to Dunkin Donuts and got some actual donuts SO GOOD! Then got on the trolley back to MV. We got $2 ice coffees at starbucks as we had a receipt we had been before in the morning. Then instead of doing the plan of CiCi’s we did The Habit since we saw close. Good burgers love them only our second time did them last year for the first time. Got home kind of late. And called it a night.

That’s my week. Sadly due to being treated bad as volunteers we wont be doing this again next year. The only way I will see Comic-Con will be online stuff, or if I paid for it. It was fun last year not this year so much. Which sucks but what can you do. Have a great week everyone. Since I had to work today tomorrow I will be just relaxing at home!

Sunday, July 20, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 20th 2014)

Today marks 5 months till my next birthday! I’m not excited about the big 35 just saying its not gonna be a thrilling one…Anyways!

1. Work this week I did work more um yes please! 14.5 hours no complaints. I worked on Wednesday a mid on a mid week day which I wasn’t used to but take all I can. Then I worked yesterday in the morning. And today in the morning. I have one day break and then back to it on Tuesday. Then not again till the following Monday. Its all good!

2. Workouts this week I managed two actual days on Tuesday and Thursday. Real workouts as in a 30 min run/walk. I am back to 1 min but its all for fun again so its fine to not be all going longer and for longer. Plus I was out of shape. Also walked to the sprinter Wednesday, Saturday and today which is not an easy task. But I survived. Yes for working out!

3. The 17th marked two things. My sisters cat Maggie turned 10 (wow crazy!). So happy for her. Got her a toy and she loved it and I got a picture of her playing with it. And it also marked 6 years since I graduated from my broadcasting school CSB in Nashville. I loved that school and I am still sad how they had to close the following year. It affected me deeply. We might have not left TN if I had been able to go there for help. Until my only one was in GA not exactly a short drive to make a demo or something sadly. Miss you CSB!!!

4. Friday we went to the beach AGAIN. As in again 3rd Friday in a row! Woohoo. This time it was our beach. Last two Fridays its been San Clemente. I really appreciate our beach for all its not rocky sand and the train so very far away. Walked far off and back. Then on the pier too and had dinner at Ruby’s (take out but still). Nice Friday evening had a lot of fun yes!

5. Left this till last. I am a STUDENT again! Today I gave them my new schedule at work. Sure its not what I wanted which was more classes in person and would have not been able to work on Tuesdays as well as Mondays and Wednesdays. But between the price of books and realizing that I couldn’t take a class with a lab also on Thursdays (I gotta work a few times a week!). So now I am taking 1 official class in person at two different schools. Two online at both schools. (total being 6). We are trying to take an English class but need to take a placement class we wanted creative writing but probably not good enough for it. So doing that this week either Tuesday or Thursday. And shall see. So I am officially as of August 18th not working on Mondays or Wednesdays. Online classes should keep me busy. So don’t think I wont be busy just cause most are online. My classes include: journalism, tv/radio, office skills, career class, guitar and then an English class of some sort. I even bought some supplies finally can do that again!

So this week promises to be busy busy. I work once my sister more. The school thing. Will see if I get called at all on 3 of my open days. And COMIC CON is next weekend. Begins on Thursday with the dinner on Wednesday night. I know we could go but we cant my sister works and no money to get down there. But CANNOT WAIT! Been waiting all year and its so close now its scary as I am so not ready. Leaves me 3 days to try to get ready. Anyways… unsure when I will update next weekend might have to wait till after COMICCON on Monday. Have a good week everyone!!

Sunday, July 13, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 13th 2014)

Well we are half way through the month of July hard to believe it! Just two more Sundays to go. How’s it treating you so far?

1. Workouts this week have been interesting. I actually did a walk on Monday only. Then on Wednesday I did a real workout for just a half hour. I went for a run/walk and all that junk! Not bad! Then on Friday we went to the beach in San Clemente. It was fun doing that we got to walk on the beach. A week after the 4th when we were there just for fireworks. But boy is my legs hurting still from this. Plus I have worked since last weekend twice that included walking to the sprinter. And standing a lot too. Boy yeah there are my workouts this week!

2. Speaking of work I worked just twice since last wrote. I only worked yesterday and today. I do work again this week on Wednesday then next weekend Saturday & Sunday. The following week (week of comiccon) am working twice which is better than I thought since I asked for 3 days off. Yeah work is okay. I am past my 90 days which is awesome no complaints. Just not used to a full shift which I had yesterday nearly 8hrs I thought I was gonna die the day was so drawn out. Just glad for a few days off and I am OKAY to not work again till Wednesday unless I need to and can…

3. So we are now 2 weeks away from Comiccon something I have been planning in my head but just a few days ago began to actually plan. We are doing 2 to 3 days I really hope for 2-3 and I hope we can do Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Last year we only did few hours on Thursday, full day on Sunday (including our only real volunteer shift) and just like 2 hours on Saturday after missing the train and then being forced to ride buses to San Diego. NOT recommend ever again like that! This year we are doing the train no super early shifts but maybe get some autographs or something. Need to do one shift even if just one day so we can do this again next year. I cant believe its been a year since last time where does the time go time flys…

4. Began this week excited for cheap or free food. Ended wondering why I was so excited? Tuesday we was going to do $.56 at IHOP. We go in there and sit down. We wait 40 min to get our order in and still no food. So we just left. No joke. We was going to maybe order more than the pancakes but decided just on those and never got them either we gave up. It took less time for FREE food few months ago then this. So we went to Denny’s spent more but had a much better time! Then on Friday was 7eleven day for free slurpees. Last year we didn’t do it as my sister worked its only 11am-7pm. This year we tried TWO different stores and both had issues. We ended up with slush melted coke one not a single machine worked at the 2nd store. Wasn’t worth it truly made me sad. All my friends on fb posting pictures. I think we was the only person to get this everyone else enjoyed free drinks boo! NO fun week free or cheap ICK.

5. Looking back to 4 years ago at this time we began our move to AZ got our truck on the 10th of July and moved at 3am on July 14 so its been about 4 years how strange. A year later and we settled in, and I was enjoying my internship loving Arizona to pieces. Our move was not easy we had bugs and bad weather but we made it and by the grace of God we got a year in AZ. I am still sad and always will be how it ended so quickly and unexpected. But looking back wow 4 years that’s nuts!

That’s all for now. Nothing special this week. But soon very soon comiccon and stuff. Yeah! Been hot out still not super hot but still not cool either. Have a great week everyone seeing you next one.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday, July 6th 2014)

Welcome to July!! How’s it been treating you so far?? And what a month it is. I have decided I think June and July could be my favorite “summer” months August is cool but I like the beginning of Summer. It’s not as hot as it could be (possibly) but yeah…

1. The 3rd marked 10 years since my job at Barnes & Noble ended! Our beloved store closed its doors for good and I then spent 3 weeks with my co-workers who still there closing it down. The most depressing thing ever and I hope I never have to do that again! I loved my job there and I was there almost 4 years still the longest I have ever been at one job. My life changed so greatly from that losing my job and not moving to another B&N. I could have moved on how different life could have been. I still love B&N and would love another shot at working with them but it hasn’t happened yet…

2. Didn’t work much this week. I worked last week on just Thursday night and Saturday afternoon. Today I worked but we are in a new week and new pay period. Work is fine. I am now at $9 an hour CA pt went up to that on July 1st. And I hit my 90 day mile stone with no celebration from anyone but me. But I remember. This is my first ACTUAL job not a seasonal job since working at Borders Books back in 2010! That is a long time for me to just be not working or just seasonal jobs. While I don’t complain seasonal is fine its easier to work a job where I know in 1 to 4 months I will still be working there unless for some reason I don’t but its not because the job ends. I am still sad wishing LL could have kept me back in 2012. But I am not complaining. However this week I need to stop being lazy and begin to look for 2nd job so I can be okay. As hours are not that great still. Twice a week (next week is 3x). Plus with Comic Con coming up I know I wont be working much that week and need to save $$ for things just twice a week gets me by and I cant really do anything other than bills and stuff I need to buy… So either more hours or a 2nd job I hope to get me by. Plus looking for an actual job that is for my career is a GOOD GOAL I need to work on!

3. This past week I had no workouts not even a simple walk. I however d id walk a long way on the 4th of July there and back for fireworks (more below). I also walked to the Sprinter twice yesterday and today. And on Monday we went on a small hike up in Fallbrook to Heller’s Bend. Boy was that a horrible steep hike and we didn’t even finish it. I am unsure if we will go back. But it was a nice change. Except not nice was the nasty bug which was in my face and trying to go in my ears the whole way up and back. Yeah no likey!

4. Saved my favorites of the week for now. On Tuesday we went to San Diego County Fair at Del Mar Fairgrounds. We only went from 5pm till 10pm. We had free tickets from the Country Run last month. So we just paid for parking and some food but not much. Got there at 5 parked walked over. And had some fun. We saw the Beatles thing they had up. Some animals. Rode 1 ride “Sky Ride” our favorite ride love it! My favorite of the night was seeing “Huey Lewis and the News” in person never have been to an 80s group concert. Loved it had SO much fun. Sure they didn’t play my favorite song but it was great. We left a little early to go to the Turkey Trot adorable fun watching baby turkeys run around. So we had fun that night!

5. On the 4th of July we went down to San Clemente and saw their fireworks. Our city had them on Thursday night and we wanted a beach show. We didn’t want to go to Danna Point so we did San Clemente and it was fun. It took forever to walk down to the beach we parked so far away. The show was like 20 mint long so it was awesome! And came home and just crashed. But yeah nice 4th. Last year we didn’t really see any up close and I am pretty sure in 2012 we did LL but unsure for sure. So yeah happy birthday America!

So the weather is warming up its been hotter this past week so we are now in our heat time. I hate that because its harder to try to sleep or nap. But few more weeks and will be back out. I have lived in AZ and TN it gets much hotter than this. So its miserable but its not as hot as I have lived… Well have a good week everyone! See you next weekend!