Monday, July 28, 2014

The Weekend 5 (Sunday July 27, 2014)

As suspected I am doing this one day late on July 28th sorry for the delay it’s been a LONG LONG weekend! And the last in July no less… Let’s call this weekend 6 not 5 too much for the norm enjoy!

1. Due to asking for so much time off work for this past weekend I only worked one time since I last wrote (lucky me I work today! But that’s another week all together…) which was on Tuesday. If I haven’t mentioned before and this goes for ANY job present or past: I hate closing. I would rather sleep little to none and get to work at 6am then to close. Its twice as exhausting as working any shift including early morning and I have done nearly all the shifts you can have. (Except the rare 4am no thank you!). So yes I closed last week and it was crazy. Our system is being changed on the computers and today I get to find out if it is and get to re-learn that if it is. Not too excited. But work is work. I am getting 14 hours this includes having to switch today for Friday so I could have that off & caused me to lose 30 min. Today I work 6.5 (after a lunch) and then same shift on Saturday but we close half hour later so I will get at least 7 that day. Not bad seeing two weeks back I got 14 hours from THREE days not two. Hope they keep doing this I really need it with school books coming kinda costly and me nearly broke and having issues (unless I get them for free or something like that which I wont know till week before school starts SIGH).

2. Workouts this week were okay. I managed two walks actually. Half power walk half regular. But my workout days fell after I was tired from working. I doubt tomorrow will be any different. But hey my dog gets out I get out and after I am not AS sore as running. Maybe this week (shall see) I can get in one or two real workouts maybe… There was lots of walking though at Comic-Con and all the stuff getting there and doing stuff after or before so I did walk around more than 2 days at home but I never count that…

3. Thursday went down and did an English Placement test. We have taken classes this is our 3rd time now at Mira Costa and we never wanted to take English at all. Wanted to take a Creative Writing class but due to never having taken the test had to do that. Both of us having not taken English or the sorts in either high school or college for over 10 years or more each we thought we would be in the lowest possible class. Guess what!? We both got to ENGLISH 100 which is actually the class right before Creative Writing! So we can now take that in the Spring. Now I just need ANOTHER $80 for books. Tomorrow I get to call Palomar where I’m taking more classes then my sister (shes not taking any there I think) and ask about their program. But for Mira Costa you have to wait one week before classes to apply. Its kinda lame and seems so last minute plus they might not have your books. But if I qualify I can get my books for free or maybe half of the total now. Which would help. IF both schools did this I really need it then I would be okay. At this point with little hours and not saving for this advance I will not have enough money for my books till we are at least two weeks to a month after semester begins on August 18th. So I am trying to be hopeful things work out or I get lots of hours at work in the next two weeks (especially since my schedule changes and cant work Monday & Wednesdays starting week of school AND have to ask for that Thursdays off too for school thing). School will keep me busy. But I still need to look for a second job or a real job or something. Trying to be positive that things will fall into place God willing but my faith has never been that big in any areas no matter how much I try…

4. Day 1 of Comic-Con for us or Day 2 for those going (Day 3 if you did preview night) was on Friday, July 25th. Unlike last year we did Friday, Saturday and Sunday. While last year we did Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. So doing Friday was totally new for us. We got down there kinda early at 11:30am and was SHOCKED to find we had a shift. Last year we came on Thursday opening day you’d think not being opening day and less going on we’d get a shift but we didn’t and yet came on Friday the first of three busy days and got a shift? Plus they changed the rules. Last year we did a 2hour shift that lasted about 1.5hours it wasn’t that long! This year they require you to do THREE HOURS. And with us being outside for our walk over and such going and coming it was nearly 4 hours totally so most of our day. First I got some young adult authors to sign was very fun. They are super nice people! On our shift we saw actor Seth Green go by he is crazy hyper and was having too fun. Just wish I could have gotten his picture. When he came back around I barely saw him and for a picture it was tiny and far away. I know its him but still. It was cool haven’t seen a big time celeb in person in forever so that was nice. Also made it into the Sleepy Hollow (tv show) panel. It was fun seeing this. The line seemed long but went so fast and we got seats. Never seen Falling Skies but it was before and we came in before it began so we watched two panels that day. I might check that show out sometime even if its in its last season this year… The train ride in was interesting we sat by a grandma from Georgia and her grand daughter and she had a baby girl on her lap so they were super nice way up. Way back our train was the seat by the back car and well it was noisy and scary. But we alone didn’t have to share the seat or anything. Not bad. I got sunburnt earlier walking around outside which wasn’t great. And it was very hot out. Before going in saw some lighting but it never rained for us (in the mountains rained some). I don’t mind rain but the timing during SDCC would have sucked! So that was day 1.

5. Day 2 of Comic-Con for us (Day 3 or Day 4 for others) was on Saturday, July 26th. We got a late start on Saturday didn’t get on the train till 11:07. We had bad stuff happen last year on Saturday and for some reason our jinx continued. My sister left her badge at home and my dad had to bring it. We barely got on the train on time. But a guy dressed as Wolverine and so much looked like him came and had to sit by us at the 2nd stop on the way. It was a fun ride with him there. The way back well it was not fun at all. The train so crowded and kept stopping for no reason and the mean guy who ran the train kept yelling at people by the doors to not sit down and find a seat even if there was NO seats. He made people not even leave one seat open for their bags . Lots of people were on there from comic-con and our bags are heavy and bulky and need their own seat. And we had a couple force us to sit across from each other. So we were cramped and uncomfortable. So that is why we didn’t take the train on Sunday. Got there on Saturday finally around 2 didn’t half a shift. Ended up going to the Grimm panel it was in Ballroom 20 if you know SDCC you know that it is the 2nd biggest popular room. Last year we scooted in there on Saturday by chance none there for The Vampire Diaries. Well we got in a long line and by a miracle got inside. It was SUPER fun seeing them on stage I got lots of pictures. They are awesome as the show is. We didn’t stay for TVD thing and went down stairs instead. Walked around where you buy stuff kind of window shopped a little. I always forget how crazy that place is I think you need one full day or some on each day (4 days would be good) to see every booth. Never have and never will. Made our train and were miserable on the way back…

6. Day 3 of Comic-Con for us (Day 4 or 5 for others) was Sunday, July 27th. We decided to drive down again (did that last year) but not as early. We left our house around 10am. And it began to rain no kidding. First thunder and lightning not cool then POURING RAIN on the freeway. It was like the most rain seen like that in the Summer out here in like forever. It never rains for us this was a humid day again as Friday was. Well by time we got to San Diego it was dry out and no rain guess it was just for us and just for show on the road. Got to the trolley station and it packed at Old Town. Ended up going back to Mission Valley Mall and parking there. Road the trolley in to downtown. Walked to Dunkin Donuts for breakfast and coffee. Then walked around outside Comic-Con. We didn’t work so we were just inside for a few hours. It closed at 5 we walked inside around 2:30. First we did the young adult signing the line super long but they all so nice got some of my favorite authors. I actually got everyone to sign even those I didn’t know. Then we went to the hall and walked around. We each bought a few small things nothing major. They sure are mean. If its after 5 and you still buying they kick you out. We finally got out of there. But sheash man. Then we couldn’t even stay outside the bathrooms after we had to go outside. And crossing the street I mean everyone cranky or something? Not the ones from inside everyone outside. We walked back to Dunkin Donuts and got some actual donuts SO GOOD! Then got on the trolley back to MV. We got $2 ice coffees at starbucks as we had a receipt we had been before in the morning. Then instead of doing the plan of CiCi’s we did The Habit since we saw close. Good burgers love them only our second time did them last year for the first time. Got home kind of late. And called it a night.

That’s my week. Sadly due to being treated bad as volunteers we wont be doing this again next year. The only way I will see Comic-Con will be online stuff, or if I paid for it. It was fun last year not this year so much. Which sucks but what can you do. Have a great week everyone. Since I had to work today tomorrow I will be just relaxing at home!

No comments:

Post a Comment